Researching
Researching, in a Nutshell
You have to be pretty flexible when doing research--sometimes you don't find what you're looking for and you have to reassess your strategy. But here's the basic cycle:
- Read and understand your research assignment.
- Choose a manageable, interesting research topic and decide on keywords that convey the main ideas of the topic.
- Use your keywords to search library databases to find books and articles.
- Skim and evaluate your results, choosing the books/articles that most closely align with your topic and your assignment.
- Read the book chapters / articles you chose and take notes. Let your ideas percolate.
- At this point, you may need to go back and fill in some blanks in your understanding of your topic. Do some more searches, or ask a librarian for help!
- Write your paper according to the assignment and your professor's instructions.
- Cite all your sources using the citation style your professor requests.
This guide will get you started!
- Research Assistance!Need help? Ask us!
Choosing Your Topic
Choosing Your Topic
If you're having trouble thinking up a topic that interests you, try these tools:
- CQ ResearcherThis library database covers controversial and current topics. Click on "Browse by Topic" to find topic ideas.
- Choosing a Manageable Research TopicThis video tutorial helps you choose a topic.
- Online EncyclopediasDo you already have a topic? Use these online encyclopedias to get some background on your topic before you start your research.
Identifying Keywords
Identifying Keywords
To do searches in the databases, you need to identify keywords that describe your topic.
- Choosing and Using KeywordsThis video tutorial shows you how to choose keywords to describe your topic.
- Library Guide: KeywordsHow to use keywords to make your searches more effective.
Finding Books
Finding Books
To get in-depth and historical information about your topic, use books. The Pfau Library Catalog lists all the books this library owns.
- Find a Book in the Library Catalog This tutorial explains how to use the catalog to find a book in this library.
- Pfau Library CatalogSearch the library catalog when you want to find books that are in this library.
- CSU Union CatalogThis catalog lists all the books owned by the entire CSU system.
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
Look in scholarly journals for articles written by researchers about your topic. You will find reports of original research and in-depth analyses of issues.
- Find Articles in a DatabaseThis tutorial shows you how to use EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier to find articles.
- What are Scholarly Journals? This tutorial helps you understand the difference between general magazines and scholarly journals.
- EBSCOhostThis general database is a good starting point for finding articles on most topics. Remember to click the "Scholarly Journals" box!
- Other Library DatabasesEBSCOhost is not your only option. The library has nearly 100 different online databases. This link shows you which databases are best for your subject.
Finding Magazine Articles
Finding Magazine Articles
Look in magazines to find articles about popular topics and current events. Do not use magazine articles if your professor wants you to use scholarly sources.
- Find Articles in a DatabaseThis tutorial shows you how to use EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier to find articles.
- EBSCOhostThis general database is a good starting point for finding articles on most topics.
Finding Newspaper Articles
Finding Newspaper Articles
Newspapers cover hard news and provide current information on local and regional events. Do not use newspaper articles if your professor wants you to use scholarly sources.
- NewsstandThis database has the full-text of hundreds of U.S. and international papers.
- Lexis Nexis: California NewspapersUse this Lexis Nexis search page to search major California newspapers.
Evaluating Information
Evaluating Information
Not all information is reliable!
This tutorial explains how to evaluate information in books, articles, and websites:
Created by librarians at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Citing Your Sources
Citing Your Sources
Do not use other people's words or ideas in your paper without giving them credit in your reference list.
CSUSB's policy on Plagiarism and Cheating
Not sure what plagiarism is? View this tutorial from the University of Texas Libraries:
Your professor will tell you which citation style to use for your reference list.
- APA Citation Library Guide
- MLA Citation Library Guide
- Research and Documentation OnlineThe online version of Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age, Fifth Edition, by Diana Hacker and Barbara Fister.
Quick Start Tutorial
Quick Start
- Quick StartQuick Start is the library's online tutorial. It comprises 6 YouTube lessons that introduce the library and demonstrate how to use its basic online resources.

Loading...
