Skip to main content

NSCI 306 (Prof. Amanda Taylor): Writing Assignment #2, Investigating Discourse

This Library Guide was prepared especially for Professor Taylor's NSCI 306 classes.

Colorful, decorative horizontal line.

STEP 1: DEFINE YOUR DISCIPLINE

TWO CONVENIENT WAYS TO FIND DEFINITIONS OF YOUR DISCIPLINE

Online Encyclopedias

A quick search of the many encyclopedias in the Gale Virtual Library database may yield a brief article to help you define your discipline.  Try one of the keywords in the box on the right.  The screenshot below shows a search for the keyword "botany."  Click on the title of the article to see it.

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library database search screen.

 

Advanced Google Search

Set up a Google search as shown below with special commands to get results containing definitions (define:) from educational institutions (site:edu).

EXAMPLES:

define:kinesiology site:edu

define:special education site:edu

Google Web Search

STEP 2: FIND A JOURNAL IN YOUR DISCIPLINE

ONE GOOD WAY TO FIND A JOURNAL IN YOUR DISCIPLINE

The ScienceDirect Database

Take a good look at the step-by-step instructions, then click the link below to access the ScienceDirect database.

You also can access the ScienceDirect database by following this path:

  • The Pfau Library's website: www.csusb.edu/library
  • Choose a Database
  • Databases by Subject
  • Natural Sciences

 

A. On the search screen, click on the Journals & Books link.

ScienceDirect database search screen.

B. Enter a keyword search for your discipline.  In the example shown below, the keyword is "botany."  If your first search doesn't work out, try a different keyword from the list of suggested keywords on the right.

A sample search in ScienceDirect.

C. On the left hand side of the screen, under Publication type, click in the box next to Journals. Your search results will automatically update.

Limiting search results to journals.

D. Click on the title of a journal to select it and see more information.

Choosing a journal.

STEP 3: GET MORE INFORMATION ABOUT THE JOURNAL

EXPLORE THESE LINKS FOR THE ANSWERS TO THE QUESTIONS IN YOUR ASSIGNMENT

The links to click on for the details you need are underlined in red in the image below.  They are:

  • View aims and scope
  • All issues
  • Guide for authors
  • About the journal

Links to more information on the journal.

SUGGESTED KEYWORDS

Suggested Keywords for Natural Science Disciplines

BIOLOGY

  • Botany
  • Ecology
  • Microbiology
  • Zoology

CHEMISTRY

  • Biochemistry
  • Organic chemistry
  • Inorganic chemistry

GEOLOGY

  • Geochemistry
  • Mineralogy
  • Petrology
  • Seismology

HEALTH SCIENCE & HUMAN ECOLOGY

  • Environmental health
  • Epidemiology
  • Food Sciences
  • Nutrition
  • Public health

KINESIOLOGY

  • Biomechanics
  • Exercise
  • Human physiology
  • Sports medicine

MATHEMATICS

  • Algebra
  • Calculus
  • Geometry
  • Number theory

NURSING

  • Anatomy
  • Children’s health
  • Health assessment
  • Human physiology
  • Pharmacology
  • Women’s health

PHYSICS

  • Electronics
  • Materials science
  • Quantum

COMPUTER SCIENCE & ENGINEERING

  • Operating systems
  • Robotics
  • Software design

Suggested Keywords for

Other Disciplines

SOCIOLOGY

  • Crime
  • Family
  • Social
  • Social science

LIBERAL STUDIES

(Also may use many of the Natural Sciences keywords above.)

  • History
  • Language

SPANISH

  • Language
  • Linguistics
  • Second language

SPECIAL EDUCATION

  • Autism
  • Disorders
  • Education
  • Teaching

ECONOMICS

  • Economy
  • Statistics

Colorful, decorative horizontal line.