Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ART 5500: Undergraduate Professional Practices: Step 1: Getting Started

Setup Your Omeka Account & Login

Set-up a free Omeka account using your CSUSB Student ID email address (Ex, 005234007@coyote.csusb.edu) by clicking on the "Start your free Omeka trial" button here.

VRC will set-up your access to the ART 5500 Omeka site and you will receive an automated email from Omeka.net with the Subject Line "You have been invited to join the Omeka.net site." 

Open the email and click the link at the bottom to accept the invitation. You will be directed to the Omeka "Site Invitation Confirmation" page and there will be a link to login to the site which will take you directly to the ART 5500 Student Portfolios Omeka site.

To login to your account after it has been established please visit https://art5500fall2022.omeka.net/admin/users/login

Create Your Portfolio in Omeka

NOTE: For Fall 2022 the VRC will complete this step

Once you have setup your Omeka account and logged into the system you will see your Dashboard displayed. From here you will need to create your Portfolio (referred to as "Collection"In Omeka) by following these steps:

  1. Click the "Collections" tab in the left-hand navigation bar.
  2. Click the green "Add a Collection" button.
  3. Enter information into the following fields.
    1. In the "Creator (Artist)" field you will enter your self-identification (e.g., artist, designer, art historian, etc.) followed by a colon (:) and first and last name formatted in Bold (to do this check the "Use HTML" box below). Example, "Artist: John Smith"
    2. In the "Title" field you will enter your first and last name followed by "Portfolio" in Italics (to do this check the "Use HTML" box below). Example, "John Smith's Portfolio"
    3. In the "Mediator (Instructor Name)" field you will enter "Professor:" followed by the first and last name of your course instructor. Example, "Professor: Alison Ragguette"
    4. In the "Is Part Of (Course Number and Title)" field you will enter "Course: ART 5500 (Undergraduate Professional Practices)".
    5. In the "Rights" field you will enter this text "All the copyright and other intellectual property rights in our website and the materials including but not limited to works posted on our website are reserved."
    6. In the "Date (Semester and Year)" field you will enter the semester and year (e.g., Spring 2022).
    7. Leave the "Source" field  blank.
    8. When you have finished entering this information you will click the green "Add Collection" button on the right-hand side of the page (leave the "public" and "featured" checkboxes blank).

Please Do Not:

  • Set your Collection to "Public" or "Featured" (VRC will take care of this).
  • Add multiple Collections. You should only have one Collection for your portfolio (Collection Title should be your first and last name followed by "Portfolio").

Add Artist Statement

You will need to add your "Artist Statement" to your collection by following these steps:

  1. Click the "Collections" tab in the left-hand navigation bar.
  2. Find your portfolio (arranged by name)
  3. Click the "Edit" button under your portfolio title
  4. Scroll down to the "Description" field
  5. Click the "Use HTML" checkbox
  6. Enter your Artist Statement into the "Description" field text box after the "Statement:" text
  7. Click the green "Save Changes" button on the right-hand side of the screen

In the "Description (Artists Statement)" field you will enter "Statement:" followed by your Artists Statement.