Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The SciFinder Database: Searching for Scholarly Journal Articles - 2

 

Colorful, decorative horizontal line.

ONE ARTICLE IN THE RESULT LIST

Here's what each item in a list of results is showing you.  Search concepts are highlighted in pink.  The checkbox in the left hand corner lets you select this one article.

One article in the result list.

1. The title of the article.  Click to see the most detailed information about an article, but not the full text.

2. The Quick View link will show you some detail on the article, but not as much as clicking on the title.

3. Click the Other Sources link to activate a search for the full text of the article.

4. The citation: the list of authors, the title of the journal (ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces), the volume number (issue number), and the pages.

5. Graphics (if any) from the article, and the abstract or summary.

6. The icons that appear on the right hand side have these meanings:

Icon that looks like a model of a molecule.

     Model of a molecule: one or more chemical substances are discussed in the article.

     Click on this icon to begin looking at more information on the substances.

 

 

Icon that looks like a green erlenmeyer flask.

     Erlenmeyer flask: one or more chemical reactions are discussed in the article.

     Click this icon to see all the reactions along with the steps to get them and more.

 

 

Icon that looks like a document with an arrow.

     Document: shows the number of other articles that have cited (used in their research)

     the article you are looking at and will always be accompanied by numbers.  None ~0,

     one ~1, two ~2, and so on.  Click this icon to see the citing articles.

 

You can select multiple articles (click in the checkboxes), scroll up to the top toolbar (shown below), and click on any one of the choices to see further information for all the selected articles at once.

Get Substances, Reactions, Related Citations.

LIMITING OR NARROWING YOUR SEARCH RESULTS

The Refine menu gives you many options for limiting your search results.  The most commonly used limits are Document Type, Language, and Publication Year.  Multiple limits must be done individually; click the Refine button each time.

The Refine menu.

FINDING THE FULL TEXT

Be aware that the link for finding the full text of an article CHANGES APPEARANCE depending on whether you are looking at the screen shown above (Other Sources) or the one you see when you click on the title of the article.  Here's what it changes to:

Link to Other Sources

Either way you activate the search for the full text, if it is found, you will see something like this example.  Here, the full text was found in the database called American Chemical Society Journals and the name of the database is the link to the full text.

Available online at link to full text.

If the full text is not available at this library, we can order it for you through our Interlibrary Loan service.

At any time, you can click on the SciFinder logo in the upper left hand corner to begin a new search.

The SciFinder logo.

Colorful, decorative horizontal line.