Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
While ordinary websites are not good sources of scholarly journal articles, the selected government and non-government websites below have other types of useful resources such as policies, descriptions of programs, data, etc., which you can explore. And don't miss our guides to finding health statistics on the Internet.
ADDITIONAL LINKS OF INTEREST
GUIDES TO HEALTH STATISTICS
STUDENT FOOD BANKS AT CSUSB & PDC
The Obershaw DEN
Providing resources to address basic needs barriers to student success both inside and outside of the classroom is a top priority at CSU San Bernardino.
SELECTED NON-GOVERNMENT ENTITIES
MyPlate: A New Alternative to the Food Pyramid
From the National Center for Health Research. A goal of the U.S. government is to help guide adults and children to be as healthy as possible. “MyPlate” replaces the familiar “food pyramid” diagram that underwent several changes in the 19 years since it was first introduced.
Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
The Academy is committed to improving health and advancing the profession of dietetics through research, education and advocacy, a message that is reflected in its mission and vision statements.
We’re intentional about taking on an inclusive, Health at Every Size approach, and so you’ll see we offer lots of resources on intuitive eating and body respect.
We provide a community for students, professionals and educators dedicated to increasing ethnic and racial diversity in the nutrition and dietetics profession.
World Critical Dietetics
The focus of Critical Dietetics is to serve as the place for inquiry and exploration regarding gender, race, class, ability, size, dietetic epistemology, post-structural orientations to dietetic education, art, and poetry in the context of dietetics.
GRACE Communications Foundation
For 20 years, GRACE Communications Foundation has worked to advance pragmatic and humane solutions to some of the world’s thorniest problems in the food, environmental and public health sectors.
FoodPrint is a project of GRACE Communications Foundation. GRACE Communications Foundation develops innovative strategies to increase public awareness of the critical environmental and public health issues created by our current industrial food system, and to advocate for more sustainable alternatives.
Food Rescue US
Food Rescue US was founded in Fairfield County in 2011 when our founders, Jeff Schacher and Kevin Mullins, recognized that two growing challenges facing their community and the nation - food insecurity and food waste - could be solved with innovative technology, volunteers, and a direct-transfer model.
Digital Public Library of America: Food
Digitized archival materials on:
Farm & Factory
Cooking at Home
Food in Wartime
Food & Social Justice
SELECTED NATIONAL GOVERNMENT ENTITIES
From the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Nutrition.gov is a USDA-sponsored website that offers credible information to help you make healthful eating choices. It serves as a gateway to reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers.
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. CDC partners with national groups, states, and communities to advance various nutrition-based programs.
From the Food and Drug Administration. Covers a wide range of food topics and research.
Dietary Guidelines for Americans
The U.S. Departments of Agriculture (USDA) and Health and Human Services (HHS) work together to update and release the Dietary Guidelines for Americans (Dietary Guidelines) every five years. Each edition of the Dietary Guidelines reflects the current body of nutrition science and provides advice on what to eat and drink to promote health and reduce risk of chronic disease.
SELECTED CALIFORNIA GOVERNMENT ENTITIES
Healthy Eating & Nutrition Education
From the California Department of Education. Information about improving nutrition and establishing healthy eating habits in school, child care, adult, and after school settings.
SELECTED CALIFORNIA NON-GOVERNMENT ENTITIES
Inland Empire Food Bank
FARSB is one of 200 food banks affiliated with Feeding America, the National Food Bank Network. FARSB serves the Riverside and San Bernardino Counties, aka the Inland Empire. There are over 800,000 people who live below the poverty line in the Inland Empire and over 400,000 people who are food insecure. Our food bank is the largest hunger-relief organization in the Inland Empire, with over 100,000 people who rely on us each month.
Our Food Rescue program ensures millions of pounds of wholesome food helps feed people, not landfills. Operating from a single headquarters in Orange County, California, we serve multiple counties within Southern California.
California Academy of Nutrition & Dietetics
California Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics is a not-for-profit membership association of approximately 6,500 registered dietitian nutritionists (RDNs), nutrition dietetic technicians registered (NDTRs), and students committed to improving California's health and advancing the profession of dietetics through research, education and advocacy.
SELECTED NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS
True Cost of Food: Measuring What Matters to Transform the U.S. Food System
From the Rockefeller Foundation. This report outlines the true cost of food, which includes the impacts on our health, the environment, biodiversity, livelihoods, and much more. With this new analysis, governments, advocates, corporations, and individuals are better equipped to catalyze the change needed to develop a truly nourishing, equitable, and sustainable food system in the United States.
Online Historical Cookbooks
A very long list of links to digitized cookbook collections from a variety of sources.
Feeding America is an online collection of some of the most important and influential American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century. The digital archive includes 76 cookbooks from the Michigan State University Libraries' collection as well as searchable full-text transcriptions.