Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Handbook of US Consumer Economics by
Handbook of U.S. Consumer Economics presents a deep understanding on key, current topics and a primer on the landscape of contemporary research on the U.S. consumer. This volume reveals new insights into household decision-making on consumption and saving, borrowing and investing, portfolio allocation, demand of professional advice, and retirement choices. Nearly 70% of U.S. gross domestic product is devoted to consumption, making an understanding of the consumer a first order issue in macroeconomics. After all, understanding how households played an important role in the boom and bust cycle that led to the financial crisis and recent great recession is a key metric. Introduces household finance by examining consumption and borrowing choices Tackles macro-problems by observing new, original micro-data Looks into the future of consumer spending by using data, not questionnaires
Publication Date: 2019-08-12
Handbook of Statistical Analysis and Data Mining Applications by
Handbook of Statistical Analysis and Data Mining Applications, Second Edition, is a comprehensive professional reference book that guides business analysts, scientists, engineers and researchers, both academic and industrial, through all stages of data analysis, model building and implementation. The handbook helps users discern technical and business problems, understand the strengths and weaknesses of modern data mining algorithms and employ the right statistical methods for practical application. This book is an ideal reference for users who want to address massive and complex datasets with novel statistical approaches and be able to objectively evaluate analyses and solutions. It has clear, intuitive explanations of the principles and tools for solving problems using modern analytic techniques and discusses their application to real problems in ways accessible and beneficial to practitioners across several areas--from science and engineering, to medicine, academia and commerce. Includes input by practitioners for practitioners Includes tutorials in numerous fields of study that provide step-by-step instruction on how to use supplied tools to build models Contains practical advice from successful real-world implementations Brings together, in a single resource, all the information a beginner needs to understand the tools and issues in data mining to build successful data mining solutions Features clear, intuitive explanations of novel analytical tools and techniques, and their practical applications
Publication Date: 2017-11-09
Internet of Things and Data Analytics Handbook by
This book examines the Internet of Things (IoT) and Data Analytics from a technical, application, and business point of view. Internet of Things and Data Analytics Handbook describes essential technical knowledge, building blocks, processes, design principles, implementation, and marketing for IoT projects. It provides readers with knowledge in planning, designing, and implementing IoT projects. The book is written by experts on the subject matter, including international experts from nine countries in the consumer and enterprise fields of IoT. The text starts with an overview and anatomy of IoT, ecosystem of IoT, communication protocols, networking, and available hardware, both present and future applications and transformations, and business models. The text also addresses big data analytics, machine learning, cloud computing, and consideration of sustainability that are essential to be both socially responsible and successful. Design and implementation processes are illustrated with best practices and case studies in action. In addition, the book: Examines cloud computing, data analytics, and sustainability and how they relate to IoT overs the scope of consumer, government, and enterprise applications Includes best practices, business model, and real-world case studies Hwaiyu Geng, P.E., is a consultant with Amica Research (www.AmicaResearch.org, Palo Alto, California), promoting green planning, design, and construction projects. He has had over 40 years of manufacturing and management experience, working with Westinghouse, Applied Materials, Hewlett Packard, and Intel on multi-million high-tech projects. He has written and presented numerous technical papers at international conferences. Mr. Geng, a patent holder, is also the editor/author of Data Center Handbook (Wiley, 2015).
Publication Date: 2017-01-10
Fundamental Aspects of Operational Risk and Insurance Analytics by
A one-stop guide for the theories, applications, andstatistical methodologies essential to operational risk Providing a complete overview of operational risk modeling andrelevant insurance analytics, Fundamental Aspects of OperationalRisk and Insurance Analytics: A Handbook of Operational Riskoffers a systematic approach that covers the wide range of topicsin this area. Written by a team of leading experts in the field,the handbook presents detailed coverage of the theories,applications, and models inherent in any discussion of thefundamentals of operational risk, with a primary focus on BaselII/III regulation, modeling dependence, estimation of risk models,and modeling the data elements. Fundamental Aspects of Operational Risk and Insurance Analytics:A Handbook of Operational Risk begins with coverage on the fourdata elements used in operational risk framework as well asprocessing risk taxonomy. The book then goes further in-depth intothe key topics in operational risk measurement and insurance, forexample diverse methods to estimate frequency and severity models.Finally, the book ends with sections on specific topics, such asscenario analysis; multifactor modeling; and dependence modeling. Aunique companion with Advances in Heavy Tailed Risk Modeling: AHandbook of Operational Risk, the handbook also features: Discussions on internal loss data and key risk indicators,which are both fundamental for developing a risk-sensitiveframework Guidelines for how operational risk can be inserted into afirm?s strategic decisions A model for stress tests of operational risk under the UnitedStates Comprehensive Capital Analysis and Review (CCAR)program A valuable reference for financial engineers, quantitativeanalysts, risk managers, and large-scale consultancy groupsadvising banks on their internal systems, the handbook is alsouseful for academics teaching postgraduate courses on themethodology of operational risk.
Publication Date: 2015-02-23
Big Data Imperatives by
Big Data Imperatives, focuses on resolving the key questions on everyone's mind: Which data matters? Do you have enough data volume to justify the usage? How you want to process this amount of data? How long do you really need to keep it active for your analysis, marketing, and BI applications? Big data is emerging from the realm of one-off projects to mainstream business adoption; however, the real value of big data is not in the overwhelming size of it, but more in its effective use. This book addresses the following big data characteristics: Very large, distributed aggregations of loosely structured data - often incomplete and inaccessible Petabytes/Exabytes of data Millions/billions of people providing/contributing to the context behind the data Flat schema's with few complex interrelationships Involves time-stamped events Made up of incomplete data Includes connections between data elements that must be probabilistically inferred Big Data Imperatives explains 'what big data can do'. It can batch process millions and billions of records both unstructured and structured much faster and cheaper. Big data analytics provide a platform to merge all analysis which enables data analysis to be more accurate, well-rounded, reliable and focused on a specific business capability. Big Data Imperatives describes the complementary nature of traditional data warehouses and big-data analytics platforms and how they feed each other. This book aims to bring the big data and analytics realms together with a greater focus on architectures that leverage the scale and power of big data and the ability to integrate and apply analytics principles to data which earlier was not accessible. This book can also be used as a handbook for practitioners; helping them on methodology,technical architecture, analytics techniques and best practices. At the same time, this book intends to hold the interest of those new to big data and analytics by giving them a deep insight into the realm of big data.
Publication Date: 2013-06-27
Need Research Help?
Subjects: About the Library
, Citing & Writing
, Controversial Topics: Pro & Con
, Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and More
, Faculty Guides
, Grants & Fellowships
, Interlibrary Loan
, Newspapers - Local & Regional
, Newspapers - National & International
, Other Guides
, Print, Scan, & Fax Instructions
, Research Skills
, Statistical Data
, Tests & Measures