Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NURS 4222 (Schultz) - Nursing Research and Evidence-Based Practice: Home

Article databases

Article databases are where users find citations to articles, full-text articles, and links to full-text articles. Some databases have both scholarly articles and articles from trade publications. If so, you will want to look for a way to limit the search to only scholarly articles if that is your assignment. See the LibGuide "Introduction to Research" for more information.

Books and E-Books

Use the catalog to find books on a topic available in that library. Sometimes books are available in paper and sometimes they are available electronically, as e-books. Both are reliable sources that will be acceptable to professors as book citations.  E-books usually have limitations for saving and downloading.

 

Citations and Citation Management

Nursing uses the American Psychological Association (APA) style for citing resources. See the APA LibGuide for more information on citing correctly using the APA style.

Use the free Zotero software to make citing easier. You'll still need to proofread the citations, but it's much easier. See the Zotero LibGuide for more information.

Article and Book Databases

Article Databases

Cinahl Plus with Full Text

Cinahl is a database devoted the the literature of the nursing and allied professions. It contains both scholarly and trade articles. Limit to scholarly resources to remove the trade articles from view.

Medline/Pubmed

MEDLINE is the largest component of PubMed, the freely accessible online database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM®). Medline has an alternative PICO interface. See the PICO LibGuide for more information.

Science Citation Index

Science Citation Index tracks citation patterns in 8,500 natural sciences journals, covering the most recent 5 years. It is also useful for keyword searching across a broad selection of science-oriented journal literature.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

"The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the health care system and help Americans, health care professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions."

Cochrane Library

"The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making." The Pfau Library does not have a subscription to this product, however some information is available without a subscription.

Book Databases

OneSearch

The place to find what paper books, e-books, videos, audiobooks, and government documents available in the Pfau Library and across the CSU. Make sure to select "Books & Media (CSUSB)" for just our materials. 

ScholarWorks

CSUSB's digital repository preserving the research, scholarship, and publications of CSUSB. Since spring 2014, it includes master's and doctoral theses, but is not retrospective.

Dissertations and Theses

A database of dissertations and theses, may of which are available in full-text. CSUSB theses are not available in this database, as those theses are available in OneSearch and in ScholarWorks.

Media Databases

Kanopy Streaming Video

A large collection of documentaries of interest to those in nursing.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Lisa Bartle
Contact:
PL-053E
909-537-7552