Women's History Through Zines: Zine Collections

Barnard College collects zines related to feminism, gender, activism, and popular culture. Barnard has a large physical zine collection, but many are available online. This Barnard website also contains a wealth of information, from zine basics to an international list of zine libraries.

The DC Punk Archive Zine Library is a virtual collection of zines gathered from the archival collections of individual DC Punk Archive donors. Many of the zines are about (and often by members of) the DC music scene and included interviews, concert reviews, record reviews, and photos of DC punk artists. The zines date from the mid-1970s to the present, though the majority are from the 1980s. The zines are arranged in alphabetical order.

This is a collection of over 60,000 zines that have been added to the Internet Archive. They cover a wide range of topics, including politics, art, creative writing, and personal theory.

The Zine Web Archive was created to supplement the physical zine collection. In general, zines are: self-published, self-created, self-distributed, and non-commercial. The independent nature of these publications allows for an unprecedented freedom of expression, and as such, these materials are incredibly valuable primary source materials.

Mission: To make all zines by people of color easy to find, distribute and share. POCZP is an experiment in activism and community through materiality.

Due to circumstances surrounding COVID-19, the Sticky Institute temporarily closed its doors in 2020. In response to this period of isolation, volunteers created Quarantine Zine Club (QZC) - an online hub for zine enthusiasts! Their aim was to create an online space for people to engage with the spirit of zines and the zine community in these troubled times.

The Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) was first launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities.

Our distro mainly focuses on anarchist tactics and skill-building. This means that we have a lot of zines on direct action, organizing, starting projects (ex: collectives, study groups, prisoner support projects), decision-making, street tactics, security, affinity groups, how we relate to each other, etc.

The zine collection at the University of Miami Libraries Special Collections contains over 5,000 items, and seeks to provide an overview of the "who, what, when, where, why" of the zine world. The library’s holdings place an emphasis on South Florida publications. Only a selection of zines have been digitized.

This collection consists of 1 linear foot of zines authors affiliated with the University of Redlands or geographically focused on the Inland Empire and Southern California deserts. This collection is divided into 3 series: University of Redlands Community, Inland Empire, and California Deserts.Items are assigned subject terms drawn from the Zine Thesaurus of Subject Terms created by the Anchor Archive Zine Library of Halifax, Nova Scotia.

The LAPL Zine Collection aims to provide access for our patrons to a variety of current and local zines with diverse viewpoints and subject matter. Our intention is to support zine authorship, diversity, DIY culture, and to encourage zine makers to submit their publications into the collection.

The Zines and Minicomics Collection combines materials from two former collections known as the West Coast Zines Collection and the Comics Collection. The collection ranges from 1985 to the present and includes zines and minicomics on a variety of topics. Concentrations include identity politics (especially riot grrrl, people of color and LGBTQ topics), sexuality and reproductive rights, punk rock, anarchism, activism, alternative lifestyles, creative writing, and popular culture. Notable feminist titles in the collection that began as zines and went on to become major "glossies" include BUST, Bitch, Venus, and Hip Mama.