Skip to Main Content

The Current Index to Nursing and Allied Health (CINAHL) Database: The Basic Search

Basic and Advanced searches, viewing search results, finding full text, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, and Quick Lessons--it's all here.

 

Colorful, decorative horizontal line.

 

- THE BASIC SEARCH -

CINAHL's basic search. The entered search is humor patient relationships. Three buttons below the search box are Full Text (sad emoticon), Peer Reviewed (happy emoticon), and All Time (happy emoticon).

FILTERS

 

- BEFORE YOU RUN YOUR SEARCH -

Full Text

Do not click this button!  The full text of many CINAHL articles will be in one of our other databases.  Clicking this button turns off the system that finds the free full text no matter which of our more than 200 databases it's in.

Peer Reviewed

Click this button to limit your search results to peer reviewed items.

All Time

Click this button to easily limit your search results to items published in the past 12 months, 5 years, or 10 years or leave it on All Time to include all publication years.

All time's drop down menu: Past 12 months, 5 years, and 10 years.

ONE MORE FILTER

 

- AFTER YOU RUN YOUR SEARCH -

The Source Type filter does not show up until you have run a search.  Click in the box for Academic Journals to further limit your peer-reviewed results to those in academic journals.

Source Type drop down menu showing three options: academic journals, CEUs, and Magazines.

NEW SEARCH

 

- TO RUN A NEW SEARCH -

On the left side of the screen, under Research Tools, click New Search.

Research tools - New search.

PRACTICE SEARCHES

 

- TRY THESE BASIC SEARCHES -

FILTERS: Peer Reviewed, Past 5 Years, Source Type - Academic Journals

  • telehealth nursing chronic disease management
  • nursing intervention patient satisfaction
  • innovations patient education outcomes

Colorful, decorative horizontal line.