Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
U.S. Newspaper Directory 1690-present
From "Chronicling America" at the Library of Congress, this searchable directory can help you determine what newspapers were published in a specific area and time period, and where copies may be available.
Digitized Newspapers 1836-1922
Don't miss this list, a subsection of the directory above, to find out which historic newspapers may be available online.
The Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (NewspaperCat) facilitates the discovery of online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean.
Historic Newspapers on the Web
California Digital Newspaper Collection
Free, scanned editions of select California newspapers, primarily from 1846-1922.
Google News Archive
Unusual, fragmentary archive of scanned versions of an odd variety of newspapers from different times and places. Most of the historic content is free; limit search results to "Free only."
Historic American Newspapers
Search through images of U.S. Newspapers from many states, with dates ranging from 1836-1922. (This is another part of Newspaper Directory site noted above.)
Hemeroteca Nacional Digital de México
Digital National Newspaper Archives of Mexico. Bulk of material is from the late 1800s and early 1900s. Fully searchable; site and all papers are in Spanish.
Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press
Digitized Mexican and border area newspapers from the University of Arizona. Mid-1800's to 1970.
England's government "newspaper" specializing in legal notices and official information, published continuously since 1665. Offers free, scanned images of all years, plus search and browse options.
Los Angeles Times Archive
Selected stories and headlines of interest. Searchable, but requires a subscription for access to most text.
New York Times Archive & Index 1851-1980
Access to scanned images requires payment. However, the index is handy for locating articles that you can then retrieve from Pfau Library's microfilm copies of the NY Times.
Trove Digitised Newspapers
Historic newspapers published in Australia, including many from the 1800's. Nothing more recent than 1955.
Wikipedia's List of Online Newspaper Archives
Particularly useful for international sources. Indicates whether access is free or pay.