Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CINAHL: Using the Results and Finding the Fulltext

CINAHL Results List

Below is an example from the result list from a query.

result one, an item with full text in the CINAHL database

Notice at the bottom of the record that this item is available in the CINAHL database in fulltext--"PDF Full Text (1.2MB)." Clicking on the link will provide the full text for you to read, to download, or to e-mail the item.

But not all items are available in full text in all databases all the time. In the record below, you see that this item does not have a full text link, but a blue box saying "Search for Full Text."

record with blue search-for-full-text button

By clicking the blue "Search for Full Text" button, the technology will search for the article in all of the Pfau Library's full text databases. A new tab will open and and display the results of the search for full text. If it finds the article in another database, there will a link reading "Available online at" and the name(s) of the database where the full text is located. If you may need to click the "Sign in" link to access the material.

options for full text

Notice the two headings "Find in Library" and "Find Online" (circled in red). If we have no paper holdings, it will say "Pfau Library does not have a physical copy." If we have no online holdings, it will say "No full text available." If we do not own what you need, click the link "Get this article through Interlibrary Loan" (circled in pink). Article requests usually arrive digitally in three working days and are almost always free. 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Lisa Bartle
Contact:
PL-053E
909-537-7552