Learning English as a Foreign Language -- Japanese edition: Home
A collection of links to help in learning English vocabulary and pronunciation, with a Japanese focus.
Books
- TOEFL Books from the Pfau Library CatalogThis search provides books on the TOEFL test (Test of English as a Foreign Language) available in the Pfau Library. The TOEFL measures English language proficiency of non-native English language speakers wishing to enroll in U.S. universities.
- American English Pronunciation Book SearchThis search provides books on English pronunciation in the Pfau Library.
- Oxford Picture DictionaryJapanese/English Oxford Picture Dictionary
Links
Learning American English can be a challenge, but with these links to advice and podcasts, you'll get that much closer to an authentic accent in American English.
- Learn by Language: English Pronunciation (Japanese Speakers)Text and videos explaining sounds difficult for native Japanese speakers of English.
- English-Japanese Vocabulary QuizzesSpecialized vocabulary
- Elemental EnglishWhile not targeted for native Japanese speakers of English, it has useful information.
- American English PronunciationA focus on American pronunciation without regard for native language, but covers the most common problem sounds, with videos, lessons, and podcasts.
- Fun Easy EnglishSome of the links are broken, but there are videos of interest for pronunciation.
- EngVid: Learn English with RonnieWhile the videos are somewhat amateurish, the content is fairly sound in its comparisons of sounds and detailed description of how to make the sounds.
- Confident Voice: Archive for American accent for Japanese speakersA collection of brief articles that describe more than the sounds of American English, but the stresses and rhythms as well.
- Star Pronunciation: Speech, English Pronunciation & Accent TipsPage of tips to speak English more clearly.
