Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PHOTO OF JANE ELIZABETH (TOMPKINS) HUNTER
Steele Photograph Collection
More than 600 photographs, the oldest from the 1920s. Use the Finding Aid link near the bottom of the page to determine which photographs to ask for in Special Collections PL-4009.
Citrus Crate Labels
From the 1880s to the mid-1950s California's citrus growers and packers vied for wholesalers' attention through the colorful citrus labels affixed to the ends of the wooden crates in which the fruit was transported. Use the Finding Aid link near the bottom of the page to determine which labels to ask for in Special Collections PL-4009.
Postcards depicting scenes in California, particularly in the Inland Empire, have been prepared for use by our researchers. Images date from the late 1800s through the mid-1900s. Use the Finding Aid link near the bottom of the page to determine which photographs to ask for in Special Collections PL-4009.
The Online Archive of California (OAC) has 200 historic photographs of people and places from the earliest days of San Bernardino. Click on the icon shown below to begin viewing the photographs.
Huell Howser Archives
Enter a keyword search for "san bernardino" to view full episodes of Huell Howser's televisions shows.
Calisphere is a gateway to digital collections from California's great libraries, archives, and museums. Discover over 1,025,000 images, texts, and recordings—and counting. Click on Collections, then enter a keyword search for "san bernardino" to see more than 3,500 photographs.
San Bernardino Historical and Pioneer Society
This website has numerous links to sources for local history. There also are indexes to two publications, The Odyssey (a quarterly newsletter) and Heritage Tales (lengthier articles than the newsletter). Some full text is online while the rest may be found in print in the library.
City of San Bernardino - History
An excellent place to begin sampling the many facets of San Bernardino history. Topics are arranged alphabetically.