Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Get Articles This Library Doesn't Have: Placing an Interlibrary Loan Article Request While Searching a Database

Did you know that we have a service that can get articles we don't have from other libraries? Includes a video version of the instructions. #full text, #articles, #ILL, #Interlibrary Loan

 

Colorful, decorative horizontal line.

     In most of our 150 databases, when there is no HTML or PDF link for the full text, you will see the Search for Full Text button shown below.  Clicking on this button automatically launches a search for your article's full text in everything we subscribe to.

Screenshot of Search for Full Text button

     Here's an example from one of our databases, OneSearch, where it looks different.  The Delivery options link takes the place of the Search for Full Text button and functions in exactly the same way.

Screenshot: Delivery Options link.

STEP 1: FULL TEXT NOT FOUND

     If the search result screen says Pfau Library does not have a copy as shown below, you can try the Check for a free version in Google Scholar link and you might get lucky, but you also might get just the citation and abstract, not the full text.

     Still no full text?  Then click on Get this article through Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD).

Screenshot full text not found.

STEP 2: LOGIN

Screenshot: MyCoyote login.

If you are not already logged in, you will get a prompt.

Use your normal MyCoyote login.

STEP 3A: SET UP YOUR INTERLIBRARY LOAN ACCOUNT

     If this is the first time you are using the Interlibrary Loan service, you will need to set up an Interlibrary Loan account by providing your contact information.  Already have an Interlibrary Loan account?  Skip to STEP 3B.

STEP 3B: THE INTERLIBRARY LOAN MAIN MENU

     In the Main Menu, under New Request, click Article.

Screenshot: Interlibrary Loan main menu.

STEP 4: PLACE THE ORDER

     When you are searching a database and decide to order an article, the Article Request form may already be filled out for you.  Check to be sure that the information is accurate and complete, then submit your request.

Screenshot: Article Request Filled Out.

     Articles are delivered electronically to your Interlibrary Loan account in 2-3 working days (Monday - Friday).  You will get an email notice that your article has arrived.  Login to your account to retrieve your article.

Colorful, decorative horizontal line.