U.S. Government Information: Archived and Alternative Sources

These are resources from the Center for Disease Control. We will continue updating this page, provide guidance about the data, and ways to access this information for technical and non-technical folks.

An archive of all CDC datasets uploaded to https://data.cdc.gov/browse as of January 28th, 2025. Excludes corrupt datasets and data not publicly accessible.

Census Reporter is an independent project to make data from the American Community Survey (ACS) easier to use. They are unaffiliated with the U.S. Census Bureau. Census Reporter has been updated with all 2023 American Community Survey data.

The Climate Change and Health Research Coordinating Center (CAFE) Collection includes datasets from a number of US Federal agencies to enable research at the intersection of climate and human health.

The Data Rescue Project is a coordinated effort among a group of data organizations, including IASSIST, RDAP, and members of the Data Curation Network. Our goal is to serve as a clearinghouse for data rescue-related efforts and data access points for public US governmental data that are currently at risk.

This is a regularly updated mirror of all data files linked from data.gov. The repository is maintained by the Harvard Law School Library Innovation Lab as part of our project to preserve U.S. federal public data.

This is Version 2 of the Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool, released by the Council on Environmental Quality in December 2024. Although the tool remains unchanged, public access through the White House was discontinued on January 22, 2025. We re-created Version 2 and made it publicly accessible.

DataLumos is a crowdsourced archive for social science government data resources maintained by ICPSR. The archive accepts both deposits of public data resources from the community and recommendations of public data resources that ICPSR itself might add to the collection.

The Environmental Data & Governance Initiative (EDGI) is a research collaborative and network of diverse professionals promoting evidence-based policy-making and public interest science that advances the Environmental Right to Know (ERTK). They have been archiving US federal environmental data.

IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.

MuckRock is a non-profit collaborative news site that provides tools to keep our government transparent and accountable. They file, track and share public records requests in the US.

A project of the Harvard Law School Library Innovation Lab, this is a regularly updated mirror of Data.gov, the US federal government data finding and storage site.

The End of Term Web Archive captures and saves U.S. Government websites at the end of presidential administrations. The EOT has thus far preserved websites from administration changes in 2008, 2012, 2016, and 2020. We are currently accepting URL nominations for the End of Term 2024 Web Archive.

Access historical versions of U.S. government websites from before January 20, 2025 with a simple URL change.

A project of the Harvard Law School Library Innovation Lab, this is a regularly updated mirror of Data.gov, the US federal government data finding and storage site.