IST 5930 (Coulson): Seminar in Information Systems and Technology: Home
Intro
This guide offers selected tools to help you find supporting literature and other materials for your projects in this course. One very useful tool for locating relevant material is OneSearch, the library's main search engine. For more tools, see the Databases tab.
Useful Guides
Slides
- Notes for IST 5930Here are the slides I used during the in-class session.
Background Reading
Autonomous Vehicles by
Better public policies can make the road smoother for self-driving vehicles and the society that soon will depend on them. Whether you find the idea of autonomous vehicles to be exciting or frightening, the truth is that they will soon become a significant everyday presence on streets and highways--not just a novel experiment attracting attention or giggles and sparking fears of runaway self-driving cars. The emergence of these vehicles represents a watershed moment in the history of transportation. If properly encouraged, this innovation promises not only to vastly improve road travel and generate huge benefits to travelers and businesses, but to also benefit the entire economy by reducing congestion and virtually eliminating vehicle accidents. The impacts of autonomous vehicles on land use, employment, and public finance are likely to be mixed. But widely assumed negative effects are generally overstated because they ignore plausible adjustments by the public and policymakers that could ameliorate them. This book by two transportation experts argues that policy analysts can play an important and constructive role in identifying and analyzing important policy issues and necessary steps to ease the advent of autonomous vehicles. Among the actions that governments must take are creating a framework for vehicle testing, making appropriate investments in the technology of highway networks to facilitate communication involving autonomous vehicles, and reforming pricing and investment policies to enable operation of autonomous vehicles to be safe and efficient. The authors argue that policymakers at all levels of government must address these and other issues sooner rather than later. Prompt and effective actions outlined in this book are necessary to ensure that autonomous vehicles will be safe and efficient when the public begins to adopt them as replacements for current vehicles.
ISBN: 9780815738572Publication Date: 2020-06-30
Formation Control of Multi-Agent Systems by
Formation Control of Multi-Agent Systems: A Graph Rigidity Approach Marcio de Queiroz, Louisiana State University, USA Xiaoyu Cai, FARO Technologies, USA Matthew Feemster, U.S. Naval Academy, USA A comprehensive guide to formation control of multi-agent systems using rigid graph theory This book is the first to provide a comprehensive and unified treatment of the subject of graph rigidity-based formation control of multi-agent systems. Such systems are relevant to a variety of emerging engineering applications, including unmanned robotic vehicles and mobile sensor networks. Graph theory, and rigid graphs in particular, provides a natural tool for describing the multi-agent formation shape as well as the inter-agent sensing, communication, and control topology. Beginning with an introduction to rigid graph theory, the contents of the book are organized by the agent dynamic model (single integrator, double integrator, and mechanical dynamics) and by the type of formation problem (formation acquisition, formation manoeuvring, and target interception). The book presents the material in ascending level of difficulty and in a self-contained manner; thus, facilitating reader understanding. Key features: Uses the concept of graph rigidity as the basis for describing the multi-agent formation geometry and solving formation control problems. Considers different agent models and formation control problems. Control designs throughout the book progressively build upon each other. Provides a primer on rigid graph theory. Combines theory, computer simulations, and experimental results. Formation Control of Multi-Agent Systems: A Graph Rigidity Approach is targeted at researchers and graduate students in the areas of control systems and robotics. Prerequisite knowledge includes linear algebra, matrix theory, control systems, and nonlinear systems.
ISBN: 1118887476Publication Date: 2018-12-31
Security of Self-Organizing Networks by
Reflecting recent advancements, Security of Self-Organizing Networks: MANET, WSN, WMN, VANET explores wireless network security from all angles. It begins with a review of fundamental security topics and often-used terms to set the foundation for the following chapters. Examining critical security issues in a range of wireless networks, the bo
ISBN: 0429094396Publication Date: 2016-04-19
Urban Informatics by
This open access book is the first to systematically introduce the principles of urban informatics and its application to every aspect of the city that involves its functioning, control, management, and future planning. It introduces new models and tools being developed to understand and implement these technologies that enable cities to function more efficiently - to become 'smart' and 'sustainable'. The smart city has quickly emerged as computers have become ever smaller to the point where they can be embedded into the very fabric of the city, as well as being central to new ways in which the population can communicate and act. When cities are wired in this way, they have the potential to become sentient and responsive, generating massive streams of 'big' data in real time as well as providing immense opportunities for extracting new forms of urban data through crowdsourcing. This book offers a comprehensive review of the methods that form the core of urban informatics from various kinds of urban remote sensing to new approaches to machine learning and statistical modelling. It provides a detailed technical introduction to the wide array of tools information scientists need to develop the key urban analytics that are fundamental to learning about the smart city, and it outlines ways in which these tools can be used to inform design and policy so that cities can become more efficient with a greater concern for environment and equity.
ISBN: 9811589828Publication Date: 2021-04-07
VANET by
This book provides an invaluable introduction to inter-vehicular communications, demonstrating the networking and communication technologies for reducing fatalities, improving transportation efficiency, and minimising environmental impact. This book addresses the applications and technical aspects of radio-based vehicle-to-vehicle and vehicle-to-infrastructure communication that can be established by short- and medium range communication based on wireless local area network technology (primarily IEEE 802.11). It contains a coherent treatment of the important topics and technologies contributed by leading experts in the field, covering the potential applications for and their requirements on the communications system. The authors cover physical and medium access control layer issues with focus on IEEE 802.11-based systems, and show how many of the applications benefit when information is efficiently disseminated, and the techniques that provide attractive data aggregation (also includes design of the corresponding middleware). The book also considers issues such as IT-security (means and fundamental trade-off between security and privacy), current standardization activities such as IEEE 802.11p, and the IEEE 1609 standard series. Key Features: Covers the state-of-the-art in the field of vehicular inter-networks such as safety and efficiency applications, physical and medium access control layer issues, middleware, and security Shows how vehicular networks differ from other mobile networks and illustrates the idea of vehicle-to-vehicle communications with application scenarios and with current proofs of concept worldwide Addresses current standardization activities such as IEEE 802.11p and the IEEE 1609 standard series Offers a chapter on mobility models and their use for simulation of vehicular inter-networks Provides a coherent treatment of the important topics and technologies contributed by leading academic and industry experts in the field This book provides a reference for professional automotive technologists (OEMS and suppliers), professionals in the area of Intelligent Transportation Systems, and researchers attracted to the field of wireless vehicular communications. Third and fourth year undergraduate and graduate students will also find this book of interest. For additional information please visit http://www.vanetbook.com
ISBN: 0470740639Publication Date: 2009-11-23
Vehicular Communications and Networks by
Vehicular Communications and Networks: Architectures, Protocols, Operation and Deployment discusses VANETs (Vehicular Ad-hoc Networks) or VCS (Vehicular Communication Systems), which can improve safety, decrease fuel consumption, and increase the capacity of existing roadways and which is critical for the Intelligent Transportation System (ITS) industry. Part one covers architectures for VCS, part two describes the physical layer, antenna technologies and propagation models, part three explores protocols, algorithms, routing and information dissemination, and part four looks at the operation and deployment of vehicular communications and networks. Comprehensive coverage of the fundamental principles behind Vehicular Ad-hoc Networks (VANETS) and the rapidly growing need for their further development Thorough overview of the design and development of key technologies and devices Explores the practical application of this technology by outlining a number of case studies, testbeds and simulations employing vehicular communications and networks
ISBN: 1782422161Publication Date: 2015-03-09
Vehicular Networks by
Over the last few years vehicular networks have been receiving a lot of attention from academia, industry, standardization bodies, and the various transportation agencies and departments of many governments around the world. It is envisaged in the next decade that the Intelligent Transportation System (ITS) will become an essential part of our daily life. This book describes models and/or algorithms designed to investigate evolutionary solutions to overcome important issues such as congestion control, routing, clustering, interconnection with long-term evolution (LTE) and LTE advanced cellular networks, traffic signal control and analysis of performances through simulation tools and the generation of vehicular mobility traces for network simulations. It provides an up-to-date progress report on the most significant contributions carried out by the specialized research community in the various fields concerned, in terms of models and algorithms. The proposals and new directions explored by the authors are highly original, and a rather descriptive method has been chosen, which aims at drawing up complete states of the art as well as providing an overall presentation of the personal contributions brought by the authors and clearly illustrating the advantages and limitations as well as issues for future work. Contents 1. Introduction 2. Congestion Control for Safety Vehicular Ad-Hoc Networks 3. Inter-Vehicle Communication for the Next Generation of Intelligent Transport System: Trends in Geographic Ad Hoc Routing Techniques 4. CONVOY: A New Cluster-Based Routing Protocol for Vehicular Networks 5. Complementarity between Vehicular Networks and LTE Networks 6. Gateway Selection Algorithms in a Hybrid VANET-LTE Advanced Network 7. Synthetic Mobility Traces for Vehicular Networking 8. Traffic Signal Control Systems and Car-to-Car Communications About the Authors André-Luc Beylot is Professor in the Telecommunication and Network Department of the ENSEEIHT of IRIT-T, University of Toulouse in France. Houda Labiod is Associate Professor at Telecom ParisTech in the INFRES (Computer Science and Network) Department, France.
ISBN: 9781118648759Publication Date: 2013-06-12
