KINE 3700 (Dunn): Statistics in Kinesiology: Home
Intro
This guide offers selected tools to help you find supporting literature and other materials for your projects in this course. One very useful tool for locating relevant material is OneSearch, the library's main search engine. For more tools, see the Databases tab.
Useful Guides
Slides
- Notes for KINE 3700Here are the slides I used during the in-class session.
Background Reading
Applied Body Composition Assessment by
Expanded, updated, and packed with new resources, Applied Body Composition Assessment, Second Edition,brings both practitioners and students up to date on the latest body composition methods and equations for healthy and clinical populations. This is the most comprehensive textbook on body composition assessment available today. Like the popular first edition, this book addresses the principles underlying the skinfold, bioelectrical impedance, near-infrared interactance, and anthropometric methods of body composition assessment. Applied Body Composition Assessment, Second Edition,also shows you how to control for potential errors in measurement, different equations for different populations, and much more. The second edition has been expanded to include the following: - Equations based on the most recent research -Recommendations reflecting the latest developments in body composition methods -New material on measuring the body composition of clinical populations, including those with cardiopulmonary, metabolic, and wasting diseases and disorders -More comprehensive coverage of the theoretical and scientific bases of body composition assessment, including more extensive coverage of body composition models and reference methods -Pedagogical aids, including key questions that initiate each chapter; key terms, key points, review questions at the end of each chapter; and an instructor guide and test package An entire chapter is devoted to each body composition assessment method, including information on its assumptions and principles, prediction models, techniques for use, potential sources of error, and the most recent research on assessing changes in body composition. In addition, the authors discuss how to choose the best method and equations for a variety of healthy populations, as well as the clinical populations noted previously, taking into account age, gender, ethnicity, physical activity level, and disease. Three appendixes provide practical tips for understanding conversion formulas for two-component models, tables that help you find appropriate methods and equations for your clients, and contact information for equipment manufacturers. More than 60 photos and illustrations complement the text. Students will find that the book is full of helpful review and summary tools that facilitate absorbing the wealth of information. These pedagogical aids include key term lists, chapter summaries, review questions, a glossary, a list of symbols, 51 tables that neatly package key information, and step-by-step instructions for each body composition method.
Call Number: Pfau Library 5th Floor QP33.5 .H49 2004 OVERSIZEISBN: 9780736046305Publication Date: 2004-01-14
Assessment in Physical Education: A Sociocultural Perspective by
Assessment has widely been acknowledged as a central element of institutional education, shaping curriculum and pedagogy in powerful ways and representing a critical reference point in political, professional and public debates about educational achievement and policy directions. Within physical education there remains significant debate regarding the subject knowledge, skills and understandings that should be assessed, in what ways and at what points in students' education this should occur. Divided into three parts, Assessment in Physical Education makes an important contribution to our understanding of the socio-cultural issues associated with assessment in physical education, in terms of its systemic development as well as at the level of pedagogic relations between physical education teachers and their students. It provides readers with an insightful critique and theoretically informed ideas for rethinking assessment policies and practices in physical education. This book will be of interest to advanced students and researchers in physical education and youth sport studies, as well as those involved in initial teacher education and teacher professional development.
ISBN: 9780415602723Publication Date: 2012-08-29
Fitness Professional's Handbook by
Fitness Professional's Handbook, Seventh Edition With Web Resource, provides current and future fitness professionals with the knowledge to screen participants, conduct standardized fitness tests, evaluate the major components of fitness, and prescribe appropriate exercise. The fully updated text uses the latest standards, guidelines, and research from authorities in the field to prepare readers for certification and arm them with the knowledge to work with a variety of clients and populations. This full-color text incorporates information from the 10th edition of ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription and the Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans exercise and physical activity recommendations for adults, older adults, children, and those with special needs. The text embraces the importance of communication between allied health and medical professionals with those in the fitness arena to provide readers with a foundation for prescribing exercise and delivering need- and goal-specific physical activity and fitness programs. Every chapter has been updated, allowing readers to explore the newest theories and research findings and apply them to real-world situations. The following are among the most significant changes to the seventh edition: * An online video library containing 24 video clips help readers better apply key techniques covered in the book * A web resource containing biannual industry updates and references and fillable forms provides a useful tool for students to use beyond the classroom * A new chapter, "Training for Performance," helps professionals expand their practice to work with recreational athletes who have performance-related goals * New information, including the consequences of exercise-induced muscle damage (rhabdomyolysis), devices used to track physical activity and estimate energy expenditure (e.g., accelerometers), relative flexibility and the role of lumbopelvic rhythm in back function, the importance of progression in an exercise prescription, and the professional standard of care associated with HIIT programs reflects recent topics of interest and research * Updated statistics on CVD and CHD from the American Heart Association, adult and childhood obesity, and the prevalence of COPD, asthma, bronchitis, and emphysema ensure accurate representation of data * Chapter quizzes have been added to an updated ancillary package that also includes an instructor guide, test package, presentation package, and image bank Fitness Professional's Handbook, Seventh Edition With Web Resource, contains a variety of learning tools to help students identify and retain key information. Objectives, key points, glossary terms, and chapter review questions guide students to important concepts, while research insight boxes and procedures for common fitness tests draw attention to commonly sought information. Case study questions and answers help readers apply the concepts to real-world scenarios. References are numbered and organized by chapter at the end of the book to provide direction for more in-depth research. With a comprehensive and practical approach, this text enables readers to help individuals, communities, and groups gain the benefits of regular physical activityy in a positive and safe environment. It provides background to the field, scientific fundamentals, and up-to-date recommendations to help readers better understand the role of physical activity in the quality of life and guidelines for screening, testing, supervising, and modifying activity for various populations.
Call Number: Pfau Library 5th Floor GV481 .F476 2017 OVERSIZEISBN: 9781492523376Publication Date: 2016-09-14
Measurement for Evaluation in Physical Education and Exercise Science by
Developed to help students master the essential content, principles, and concepts that will make them effective evaluators, this text provides the practical skills and materials they will need - whether they become teachers or work in exercise science.
Call Number: Pfau Library 5th Floor GV436 .B33 2007ISBN: 9780073045269Publication Date: 2006-08-14
The Rehabilitation Specialist's Handbook by
The 4th Edition of the gold standard of rehabilitation resources is now in full color and thoroughly revised and updated to reflect the art and science of practice today! A compendium of frequently used, but rarely memorized information organized for easy reference, it covers an extraordinary breadth of topics--from the full range of basic scientific information (neuroanatomy and clinical neurology, osteology and clinical orthopedics, general anatomy, cardiac and pulmonary anatomy) to the treatments and methods used in modern rehabilitation practice. With its outcome and evidence-based focus and several expert contributors, this text is a must for PT's at any stage in their career.
ISBN: 9780803639065Publication Date: 2012-12-21
Research Methods in Biomechanics by
Research Methods in Biomechanics, Second Edition, demonstrates the range of available research techniques and how to best apply this knowledge to ensure valid data collection. In the highly technical field of biomechanics, research methods are frequently upgraded as the speed and sophistication of software and hardware technologies increase. With this in mind, the second edition includes up-to-date research methods and presents new information detailing advanced analytical tools for investigating human movement. Expanded into 14 chapters and reorganized into four parts, the improved second edition features more than 100 new pieces of art and illustrations and new chapters introducing the latest techniques and up-and-coming areas of research. Also included is access to biomechanics research software designed by C-Motion, Visual3D Educational Edition, which allows users to explore the full range of modeling capabilities of the professional Visual3D software in sample data files as well as display visualizations for other data sets. Additional enhancements in this edition include the following: * Special features called From the Scientific Literature highlight the ways in which biomechanical research techniques have been used in both classic and cutting-edge studies. * An overview, summary, and list of suggested readings in each chapter guide students and researchers through the content and on to further study. * Sample problems appear in select chapters, and answers are provided at the end of the text. * Appendixes contain mathematical and technical references and additional examples. * A glossary provides a reference for terminology associated with human movement studies. Research Methods in Biomechanics, Second Edition, assists readers in developing a comprehensive understanding of methods for quantifying human movement. Parts I and II of the text examine planar and three-dimensional kinematics and kinetics in research, issues of body segment parameters and forces, and energy, work, and power as they relate to analysis of two- and three-dimensional inverse dynamics. Two of the chapters have been extensively revised to reflect current research practices in biomechanics, in particular the widespread use of Visual3D software. Calculations from these two chapters are now located online with the supplemental software resource, making it easier for readers to grasp the progression of steps in the analysis. In part III, readers can explore the use of musculoskeletal models in analyzing human movement. This part also discusses electromyography, computer simulation, muscle modeling, and musculoskeletal modeling; it presents new information on MRI and ultrasound use in calculating muscle parameters. Part IV offers a revised chapter on additional analytical procedures, including signal processing techniques. Also included is a new chapter on movement analysis and dynamical systems, which focuses on how to assess and measure coordination and stability in changing movement patterns and the role of movement variability in health and disease. In addition, readers will find discussion of statistical tools useful for identifying the essential characteristics of any human movement. The second edition of Research Methods in Biomechanics explains the mathematics and data collection systems behind both simple and sophisticated biomechanics. Integrating software and text, Research Methods in Biomechanics, Second Edition, assists both beginning and experienced researchers in developing their methods for analyzing and quantifying human movement.
Call Number: Pfau Library 5th Floor QP303 .R585 2014 OVERSIZEISBN: 9780736093408Publication Date: 2013-11-01
Need Research Help?
Research Assistance
Contact:
Ask a CSUSB Librarian
Email a Librarian
Text your question to 909-542-8990
Schedule an appointment
FAQ - Online answers to common questions.
(Non-CSUSB Librarians)
Email a Librarian
Text your question to 909-542-8990
Schedule an appointment
FAQ - Online answers to common questions.
Subjects: About the Library, Arabic, Articles, Books, Citing & Writing, Controversial Topics: Pro & Con, Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and More, Faculty Guides, Grants & Fellowships, Interlibrary Loan, Newspapers - Local & Regional, Newspapers - National & International, Other Guides, Print, Scan, & Fax Instructions, Research Skills, Statistical Data, Tests & Measures