Joseph Andrew Rowe Water Resources Archives: Home

Research assistance by appointment.

Call (909)537-5112

Email: Archives@csusb.edu

• Cahuilla and other indigenous tribes of the area (Wikipedia articles on the Cahuilla people's history in this area and on Cahuilla Lake)
• Lugo Land Grant (SBC Sun story)
• Holcombe SB water rights - don't sell our water! (SBC Sentinel story)
• 1985 L.A. Times story on Urbita Springs. 

CSUSB Land Acknowledgement:

We recognize that the campuses of California State University, San Bernardino each sit on unceded Indigenous ancestral homelands.

For San Bernardino: the land of the Gabrieleno (Tongva) peoples, Chemehuevi (Nuwu) peoples, Serrano (Maara’yam) peoples, and the federally recognized land of the Yuhaaviatam of San Manuel Nation.

For Palm Desert: the land of the Cahuilla (‘Ivilluwenetem) peoples and the federally recognized land of the Agua Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians.

We recognize that every member of the CSUSB community has benefitted and continues to benefit from the use and occupation of this land since the institution’s founding in 1965.

Consistent with our values of community and diversity, we are responsible for acknowledging and making the university’s relationship with Indigenous peoples visible.

By offering this Land Acknowledgement, we affirm Indigenous sovereignty and will work to hold California State University, San Bernardino more accountable to the needs of American Indians and Indigenous peoples.

This Land Acknowledgement has been developed by Indigenous peoples with the oversight and approval of tribal elders from these respective tribes to ensure Native American and Indigenous collaboration in higher education.

The beginning of the Water Resources Institute: https://scholarworks.lib.csusb.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1022&context=peacock

Show how to thread the needle to get to the site for the Joseph Andrew Rowe Water Resources Archives.

Aerial Photos.

Interested in seeing student projects exploring water resources? Go to CSUSB's Scholarworks and search "water resources".

Flooding history (all the agencies have to make reports after floods)

Santa Ana River history (this will include lawsuits)

Zanja water ditch

Colorado River Water (I’m going to look for the water quality reports)

Salton Sea Archive (I can’t show this, but the archive is amazing and is at PDC, they should know about it)

Searching for information is an iterative process. You go in and try different strategies, until you find one that works. Then you look at the information you found and you see new possibilities. So you search those and follow the information found to still more information... It takes time. If you have a project with a deadline, start as early as you can.

Where to start? The easiest place is the Pfau Library Catalog (OneSearch on the library home page.) This will find published material that has been cataloged for our library. (And, in OneSearch, also books cataloged for other CSU libraries and articles from some journals and other periodicals.)

Searches:

• Flood Bernardino

  • Floods of the past : an assemblage of documentary observations with particular reference to the San Bernardino Valley and environs

    Sidler, W. A; San Bernardino County Flood Control District

    1972

• (try adding the word report to your search)

• Santa Ana River
• words that you could add to your search to find information on lawsuits include: legal, lawsuit, decision, court, plaintiff

• Zanja water Redlands
• Zanja water Bernardino (think about geography - Redlands is in San Bernardino County, in the Santa Ana watershed... etc.)

• Colorado River water

• Salton Sea Archive (See the Special Collections page)

We're building a "finding aid" for unpublished materials in our archives. Campus ITS just set up the software for it this year. It's called ArchivesSpace. So far we have a "stub" record for the Joseph Andrew Rowe Water Archives. Our new archivist will begin work at CSUSB near the end of the month. Watch for the finding tools in ArchivesSpace to grow!