The Current Index to Nursing and Allied Health (CINAHL) Database: Viewing Results & Finding Full Text

- ITEMS 1 TO 5 -

1.  CINAHL provides an identifying label for each item.  This one is an article from an academic journal.

2.  The title of the article.  Keywords from the search are highlighted.

3.  The author's name (By); the title of the journal (In); and the date of publication.

4.  The first few sentences of the abstract or summary.  Click Show More (underlined in purple above) to see the entire abstract.  The abstract allows you to quickly decide if this article is a good one for your topic.

5.  The list of subjects addressed in this article.  Click +4 More (underlined in purple above), the number will vary, to see the whole list.  HINT: A great place to check for keywords you may not have thought of.

- ANOTHER SELECTION AID -

Some search results may have a Generate AI Insights button.  Like the abstract, this is intended to help you decide if an article is a good match for your topic.  Click this button to get a bulleted list of five insights, statements about the article, along with this disclaimer:

Disclaimer: These insights are generated by AI based on the content of the source document. Information quality may vary and AI Insights should be validated for accuracy. Insights are newly generated with each request and are not reproducible.

- ITEMS 6 to 8 -

6.  Click this button to find the full text in one of the library's other databases.  Download the full text while you are in the other database.  You may also see these buttons to click for full text that you can download in CINAHL:

Online Full Text is HTML (webpage) format full text.

When you see Access Options, you have a choice of PDF or HTML formats.

BONUS: Articles with any of the buttons shown above have a tool for an automated voice to read the article to you along with other accessibility support.  Look for this tool and option (shown below) in the upper right hand corner of the screen with the full text.

7.  Optional.  Some of CINAHL's features, saving items, saving search strategies, etc., require an optional free personal account.  Click the My EBSCO link (not shown) in the upper right hand corner of every screen to set one up.

8.  The three-dot menu has these tools:

Add to project requires the optional, free EBSCO account, but the other three do not.  As always, doublecheck any citations you generate with a database tool.