Skip to main content

How Books are Arranged in the Library: Books by Subject

Arrangement

Here's how it works:

If you know the subject classification of a book, you can go to that "class" and browse the shelves to see all the books on that subject.

For example, say you want to look at a few books about nursing.

Nursing books are in Class R, so you would go to the R section of the library to see books about nursing.

How do you know what class your subject is in?

Check the classification outline in the box to the right.

Location Directory

When you know how your subject is classified, check the location directory to find out where that class is located in the library.

In our nursing example, Class  R is on the fifth floor.

Classification Outline

This outline is posted outside and inside all the elevators in the library.

A – General Works (includes encyclopedias, etc.) 

B – Philosophy, Psychology, Religion

C – AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY (includes archeology, genealogy, and biography, etc.)

D – HISTORY: GENERAL AND OLD WORLD

E – HISTORY: AMERICA (includes U.S. military history, etc.)

F – HISTORY: AMERICA (includes local history of the states, etc.)

G – GEOGRAPHY, ANTHROPOLOGY, RECREATION (includes atlases, customs, and sports, etc.)

H – SOCIAL SCIENCES (includes statistics, economics, and sociology, etc.)

J – POLICIAL SCIENCE (includes political institutions and local governments of the world, etc.)

K – LAW (includes U.S., the states, and international law, etc.)

L – EDUCATION

M – MUSIC AND BOOKS ON MUSIC

N – FINE ARTS

P – LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE (includes communication, English and foreign-language dictionaries, and literature of the world, etc.)

Q – SCIENCE (includes mathematics, chemistry, and physics, etc.)

R – MEDICINE (includes pathology, surgery, and nursing, etc.)

S – AGRICULTURE (includes plan culture and animal culture, etc.)

T – TECHNOLOGY (includes engineering, motor vehicles, and home economics, etc.)

U – MILITARY SCIENCE (includes military administration, armor, and artillery, etc.)

V – NAVAL SCIENCE

Z – BIBLIOGRAPHY, LIBRARY SCIENCE, INFORMATION RESOURCES (general)

Check the Location Directory in the box to the left to see what floor your subject is on.