Primary Sources: ...in GLAMs

This guide will assist you in discerning what primary sources are and where they can be located.

Archives

GLAM (or Galleries, Libraries, Archives, and Museums) refers to institutions that collect and maintain cultural heritage materials of historical interest. As collecting institutions, GLAMs preserve and make accessible valuable primary source collections for scholarly and research use. These primary source collections are typically described by GLAMs using finding aids, guides, or inventories that are often times available online.

The following resources can be used to identify and locate primary sources maintained at GLAMs:

ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records that describe primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies across the world.
Archives West
Archives West provides access to descriptions of primary sources at archival repositories in the western United States, including correspondence, diaries, and photographs.
CSUSB ArchivesSpace
Contains finding aids for archival collections housed in Special Collections & University Archives at the John M. Pfau Library. Search and browse collections by subject, name, or keyword.
Online Archive of California
The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides online access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California.
Social Networks and Archival Context
Social Networks and Archival Context (SNAC) is an online resource that helps users discover biographical and historical information about persons, families, and organizations that created or are documented in historical resources (primary source documents) and their connections to one another.

Last Updated: Jul 18, 2024 2:54 PM
URL: https://libguides.csusb.edu/primarydocuments
Print Page

Subjects: History, Research Skills, Special Collections & University Archives

Tags: primary documents