San Bernardino County Sun: Home

Access digital archive of the San Bernardino County Sun

Access the San Bernardino County Sun Digital Archive

Microfilm of the newspaper was digitized by the California Digital Newspaper Project. CSUSB students and employees can access the digital images from anywhere; others can access them for free from computers on California State University San Bernardino's campuses.

San Bernardino County Sun Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Digital images of the County Sun from Sept. 1, 1894-March 30, 1998. Fully searchable.
NOTE: There is a free version of the San Bernardino Sun Archive that includes almost all the same content, but has fewer options for saving.

Availability of the Sun

The San Bernardino County Sun gave its paper archives, from 1898-1998, to the San Bernardino County Archives. This donation formed the basis of the County Sun digitization project. Along with this gift there was a partial archive of photographs from 1979-2002. Visit the San Bernardino County Archives web site for more information about their holdings and services.

Digitization of the Sun ended with March 1998. Currently, no digital images of the Sun are available for April 1, 1998 through May 31, 2022.
Pfau Library has microfilm of the Sun from September 1894-December 2019. (No microfilm was produced after 2019.) For information about microfilm of the Sun, contact Pfau Library's University Archives and Special Collections, (909) 537-7541, email archives@csusb.edu.
The CSUSB Libraries have online text-only access to the Sun from Sept. 14, 2001 to the present through a subscription to NewsBank: America's News. NewsBank also provides digital images of the Sun from June 1, 2020 to the present.
Currently, no images of the Sun, either digital or microfilm, exist for January 2020 through May 2022.
It is not possible to do an online search the full run of the Sun in one go. At best, researchers must repeat their search across two online platforms (Newspapers.com and NewsBank). About three years of the Sun, from April 1, 1998-Sept. 13, 2001, fall into a gap between the holdings of the two platforms and thus are not searchable online.