Open Access: OA Resources

What is Open Access and why should it matter to you?

OA at CSUSB!

CSUSB ScholarWorks
ScholarWorks is CSUSB's institutional repository, showcasing the university's scholarly output and publications.

Open Government: Data.gov
Directory of open sources of federal, state, county, and city government data sets.

The CSU does not have a systemwide policy on Open Access. Some individual CSU campuses have policies, but CSUSB does not.

The UC system's Office of Scholarly Communication has had a policy promoting Open Access since 2013:

BASE
From the University of Bielefeld in Germany, searches millions of open-access academic documents.
OATD: Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Covers thousands of freely available master's theses and dissertations.
PLOS: Public Library of Science
Large suite of fully open access journals in the sciences.
PubMed Central
Includes archived health sciences research produced with federal grant funding, as well as fully open-access journals.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar covers much free content, including institutional repositories, but also includes content behind paywalls.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is an attempt at identifying reputable open access scholarly journals.
Beyond Beall's List
This article from College & Research Libraries News discusses some of the pitfalls of creating "good" and "bad" lists.
Think Check Submit
Offers rubrics to help researchers decide whether they should submit their work to a particular journal.
Beall's List of Possible Predatory Publishers: Archived at the Internet Archive
Beall's List went offline mid-January 2017. While active, it attempted to list disreputable publishers and journals.
This is the archived version of Beall's List in the Wayback Machine. No longer updated!
Beall's List at Weebly
A resurrected version of Beall's, sporadically updated by volunteers.

Author Rights: Using the SPARC Author Addendum
Part of Open Access includes retention of author's rights, usually signed away in traditional journal publishing agreements. Use SPARC's contract addendum to keep your rights to re-use!
SHERPA/RoMEO
Publisher copyright policies & self-archiving. Find out if your publisher supports posting in institutional repositories!

Subjects: Faculty Guides, Other Guides