Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books A - O
America's Women: four hundred years of dolls, drudges, helpmates, and heroines by
Call Number: HQ1410 .C588 2007
Publication Date: 2003-09-23
America's Women tells the story of more than four centuries of history. It features a stunning array of personalities, from the women peering worriedly over the side of the Mayflower to feminists having a grand old time protesting beauty pageants and bridal fairs. Courageous, silly, funny, and heartbreaking, these women shaped the nation and our vision of what it means to be female in America.
The American Women's Almanac by
Call Number: HQ1410 .B47 1997
Publication Date: 1997-03-01
Here is a new American history. It is full of charmers and cranks, visionaries and lost souls, and amazingly heroic women. The American Women's Almanac shows how women of all races have, individually and together, challenged injustice and pushed aside narrow definitions of womanhood.
American Women: a Library of Congress guide for the study of women's history and culture in the United States by
Call Number: HQ1410 .U5 A47 2001
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Description This important publication is designed to introduce researchers to the opportunities for discovering American women's history and culture at the library of Congress. Covers materials such as textual sources, films, sound recordings, prints and photographs, and other audio or visual material. Intended for academics, advanced graduate students, genealogists, documentary filmmakers, set and costume designers, artists, actors, novelists, photo researchers, and general readers.
Born for Liberty by
Call Number: HQ1410 .E83 1989
Publication Date: 1989-05-01
A history of the changing roles and status of women in America from the seventeenth century through the 1980s.
Changing Woman by
Publication Date: 1996-06-13
While great strides have been made in documenting discrimination against women in America, our awareness of discrimination is due in large part to the efforts of a feminist movement dominated by middle-class white women, and is skewed to their experiences. Yet discrimination against racialethnic women is in fact dramatically different--more complex and more widespread--and without a window into the lives of racial ethnic women our understanding of the full extent of discrimination against all women in America will be woefully inadequate. Now, in this illuminating volume, KarenAnderson offers the first book to examine the lives of women in the three main ethnic groups in the United States--Native American, Mexican American, and African American women--revealing the many ways in which these groups have suffered oppression, and the profound effects it has had on their lives.
No Small Courage: A history of women in the United States by
Call Number: HQ1410 .N6 2000
Publication Date: 2000-11-16
Energized by a wealth of new research into women's history, No Small Courage offers an unprecedented chronicle of American experience, charting women's gradual struggle for social and political independence, from the precolonial era to the present.
American Women: A Gateway to Library of Congress Resources for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States
Simultaneously a guide, an online magnet for digitized women's history materials drawn from a plethora of Library sources, and a gateway, American Women is an innovative addition to American Memory. The site will continue to evolve and grow as new subject approaches to women are explored, additional items and collections on women are identified and digitized, and new programs on women's themes are offered for public viewing over the Internet.
Discovering American Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
Insitute for Women's Policy Research
The Institute for Women’s Policy Research conducts and communicates research to inspire public dialogue, shape policy, and improve the lives and opportunities of women of diverse backgrounds, circumstances, and experiences. We are the leading think tank in the United States applying quantitative and qualitative analysis of public policy through a gendered lens.
National Women's Hall of Fame
The National Women’s Hall of Fame is the nation’s oldest membership organization dedicated to recognizing and celebrating the achievements of great American women.
National Women's History Alliance
The National Women’s History Alliance formerly, the National Women’s History Project, is a leader in promoting Women’s History and is committed to the goals of education, empowerment, equality, and inclusion.
National Women's History Museum
Our mission is to tell the stories of women who transformed our nation. We will do that through a growing state-of-the-art online presence and a future physical museum to educate, inspire, empower, shape the future, and provide a complete view of American history.
Shaping a New America: The Equal Rights Amendment
"Equality of rights under the law shall not be abridged by the United States or by any State on account of sex." This simple sentence comprised Section 1 of the EQUAL RIGHTS AMENDMENT (ERA), which was first proposed in Congress by the National Women's Party in 1923. Feminists of the late 1960s and early 1970s saw ratification of the amendment as the only clear-cut way to eliminate all legal gender-based discrimination in the United States.
Travel Where Women Made History
Women's history is full of amazing stories of both ordinary and extraordinary people.The Travel Where Women Made History website introduces travelers and arm-chair travelers to a wide range of historic places associated with women’s history. Explore places based on the themes of migration and immigration, art and education, science and technology, and more. This site offers tools to explore both digitally and in person. Use the interactive StoryMaps to discover places of women’s history all across the country, or check out a Trip Idea and spend a day exploring.
Women's History: Famous Women
From raising families to leading armies, women such as Catherine the Great, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Queen Elizabeth I, Susan B. Anthony, Marie Curie and countless others have played a vital role in human civilization.
Women's History: The National Archives
One hundred years ago, the struggle to win the right to vote for women was reaching its goal. In May 1919, the House of Representatives passed what was to become the 19th Amendment, which was ratified by three-fourths of the states on August 18, 1920.
Women's History Month
The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in commemorating and encouraging the study, observance and celebration of the vital role of women in American history.
Books P - Z
The Religious History of American Women by
Publication Date: 2007-04-23
More than a generation after the rise of women's history alongside the feminist movement, it is still difficult, observes Catherine Brekus, to locate women in histories of American religion. Mary Dyer, a Quaker who was hanged for heresy; Lizzie Robinson, a former slave and laundress who sold Bibles door to door; Sally Priesand, a Reform rabbi; Estela Ruiz, who saw a vision of the Virgin Mary--how do these women's stories change our understanding of American religious history and American women's history? In this provocative collection of twelve essays, contributors explore how considering the religious history of American women can transform our dominant historical narratives.
Root of Bitterness: documents of the social history of American women by
Call Number: HQ1410 .C695 1986
Publication Date: 1986-09-15
First published when women's history was a newly emergent field, Root of Bitterness has achieved the status of a classic in a burgeoning body of literature. Taking three centuries of American women's experience as its province, the volume extends from the unknown voices of slaves and indentured servants to the writings of such well-known women as Jane Addams.
A Shining Thread of Hope by
Call Number: E185.86 .H68 1999
Publication Date: 1998-01-12
Encompassing both the panoramic story of Black women in America and the intimate, evocative details of the lives of individual women, Darlene Clark Hine and Kathleen Thompson bring readers a new perspective on a long-neglected area of our history. This inspiring, sometimes heartbreaking narrative offers fresh scholarship and historical presentation as it goes beyond descriptions of codified oppression to present the strength, courage, and resourcefulness of African-American women as individuals and as a collective force for positive change.
U.S. History As Women's History by
Call Number: HQ1410 .U17 1995
Publication Date: 1995-03-20
This outstanding collection of fifteen original essays represents innovative work by some of the most influential scholars in the field of women's history. Covering a broad sweep of history from colonial to contemporary times and ranging over the fields of legal, social, political, and cultural history, this book, according to its editors, 'intrudes into regions of the American historical narrative from which women have been excluded or in which gender relations were not thought to play a part.'
Unequal Sisters: A multicultural reader in U.S. women's history by
Call Number: HQ1410 .U54 1990
Publication Date: 1990-05-01
A collection of essays exploring subjects pertaining to women's history, this book considers issues such as waged work, family life, political activism, community building and sexual difference from a multi-cultural perspective.
Women's America: Refocusing the past by
Call Number: HQ1426 .W663 2000
Publication Date: 1999-11-11
Contains scholarly historical essays and primary sources relating to American women's history from 1600-2000.
Women and the Conquest of California, 1542-1840: codes of silence by
Call Number: F864 .B695 2001
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Studies of the Spanish conquest in the Americas traditionally have explained European-Indian encounters in terms of such factors as geography, timing, and the charisma of individual conquistadores. Yet by reconsidering this history from the perspective of gender roles and relations, we see that gender ideology was a key ingredient in the glue that held the conquest together and in turn shaped indigenous behavior toward the conquerors.This book tells the hidden story of women during the missionization of California. It shows what it was like for women to live and work on that frontier--and how race, religion, age, and ethnicity shaped female experiences. It explores the suppression of women's experiences and cultural resistance to domination, and reveals the many codes of silence regarding the use of force at the missions, the treatment of women, indigenous ceremonies, sexuality, and dreams.
Women's Rights by
Publication Date: 2013-12-12
Taking a broad view of the ongoing efforts to attain rights for women, this work provides unique insight into the context of the issues and reveals the range of factors that can influence a particular policy decision. What constitutes "women's rights" depends on whom you ask--or who is in political office at the time. Understandably, women's rights have changed across time as perceptions of women and their roles have changed. What remains consistent regardless of the historic era is that rights assumed by men often must be specifically granted to women. This book presents an overview of women's rights that also addresses specific policy decisions.
fivethirtyeight.com - and chart was cropped (with freeware IrfanView) to remove original top and bottom text. New text added to top. See discussion. / Public domain