Skip to Main Content

Harvesting Citations: Two Methods

Start with one scholarly journal article on your topic and harvest more from its bibliography or references.

 

A decorative header with basket after basket of harvested apples.

Havesting Citations

Got one scholarly journal article on your topic but looking for more?  Here are two ways to do that by tapping into the power of citations.

Infographic of a tree with its roots below The Scholarly Article You Chose and branches above it. Looking Forward, Cited by, Other Articles That Cite This Article. Looking Back, Works Cited in This Article, Bibliography, References.

 

- ROOTS & BRANCHES -

Works Cited - Roots

Every scholarly journal article has a bibliography or list of references which contains citations to all the works the authors found useful for their research topic.

Cited By - Branches

Once a scholarly journal article is published, other researchers may find it useful for their research topics and cite it in their bibliography or list of references.

- LOOKING BACK -

Check the Roots

Check the bibliography or list of references of each scholarly journal article you choose for your research topic and you may find citations to additional useful articles.  Sometimes, when viewing the full text, you will be able to simply click on a citation to find an article.  It depends on the database you're using.  If a citation is not clickable, copy the title of the article and paste it into OneSearch to check multiple databases at once for the article and its full text.

- LOOKING FORWARD -

Check the Branches

Some of our databases give you an easy way to find the articles that cited your article.  OneSearch does this with the forward and back red arrows that accompany each article.

Two small, red arrows indicate forward and back.

This feature will change appearance in different databases--watch for it to show up.  If the database you're using does not have this feature, try copying and pasting the article title into OneSearch or ask a librarian for assistance.

Colorful, decorative horizontal line.