IntroductionCollecting CitationsBacking-Up/SyncingPlacing Citations in a Document
This is the "Citations Templates and Examples" page of the "MLA Citation Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MLA Citation Guide   Tags: bibliography, cited, citing, references, works  

A guide the the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style.
Last Updated: Oct 16, 2014 URL: http://libguides.csusb.edu/mla Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Citations Templates and Examples Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Printable PDF
MLA Citation Guide

 

Tips Before Turning It In

Before submitting your paper to the instructor, be sure to review these tips and make corrections to your reference list.

  • If your instructor’s preferred style differs from this suggested style, always follow your instructor’s directions.
  • URL is not necessary. Include it only "when the reader probably cannot locate the source without it or when your instructor requires it" (MLA Handbook 182).
  • All references are double-spaced.
  • Do not indent the first line in each citation, but indent all the following lines (a hanging indent, Ctrl+T in MS Word).
  • For multiple authors for a single citation, the first should be lastname, firstname. All others are firstname lastname.
  • Months are abbreviated except for May, June, and July.
  • Do not give volume and issue numbers for magazines even if they are available.
  • In the title and subtitle, capitalize all words that are not articles or prepositions.
  • Single-space after colons and periods.
  • Every citation shound end in either the word "Print" or the word "Web."  When the source is "Web," include the date you accessed the source.
  • The name of the journal, magazine, newspaper, database, and book are in italics.
 

Articles from Electronic Sources

"Electronic sources" generally means library databases, other online databases, and Web sites. Below are three templates. Use the most relevant one for you and plug in the citation information.

Author(s). “Article Title.” Source. Publisher/Sponsor of site if given, Date of item or last update of site. Database. Medium. Date of access. URL for non-database Web site.

Below are examples of citations for articles from electronic sources.  All citations should be double-spaced with a hanging indent (Ctrl+T).

Electronic PDF Article from database

Kong, Les. “Business Sources for Education Majors.” Education Graduate Students Magazine 19 July 1998: 12-19. JSTOR. Web. 17 Sep. 2008.

Electronic HTML/TXT Article from database, lacking pagination

Zhang, Xiwen. “Affirmative Action and California Education.” Excellence and Equity in Education 12 (1998): n. pag. Academic Search Premier. Web. 17 Sep. 2008.

Electronic Article from a Web site, lacking pagination

Magedanz, Stacy. “Psychology of Louisiana Libraries.” Mother Jones Magazine May/June 1999: n. pag. Web. 15 Sep. 2008.

Web page

“Hourly News Summary.” National Public Radio. Natl. Public Radio, 20 July 2007. Web. 15 May 2008.


 

Articles from Paper Sources

Some articles are still available in the Pfau Library in paper formats.  Below is a template for articles from a paper source. 

Author(s). “Article Title.” Name of Journal volume.issue number (year): pages. Medium.

Below are examples of citations for articles from paper sources.  All citations should be double-spaced with a hanging indent (Ctrl+T).

Journal Article (with issue number)

Bartle, Lisa, and Barbara Quarton. “Information Competency Programs in the CSU System.” Journal of Higher Education 32.2 (1999): 33-52. Print.

Magazine Article

Kong, Les. “Business Sources for Education Majors.” Education Graduate Students Magazine 19 July 2005: 12-19. Print.

Newspaper Article (no author, discontinuous pages)

“Self-Esteem Linked to Regular Exercise.” Coyote Express 2 Jan. 2000, late ed.: A3+. Print.


 

Books, Chapters, and ERIC documents

Below are two standard templates for books in both electronic and paper formats.  Use the most relevant one for you and plug in the citation information.

Author(s). Book Title. Edition if given. Where published: Who published, year. 

Author(s). Book Title. Edition if given. Where published: Who published, year. Medium.


Book

Tschabrun, Susan. African History Resources on the Continent. 2nd ed. New York: Divine Press, 1995. Print.

Edited Book

McDonald, Jane P., Gale Leigh, and Lisa Bartle, eds. Anthology of Librarianship. Berkeley: Hippie Press, 2006. Print.

Book chapter (with editors)

Vassilakos-Long, Jill. “Effective Use of Government Documents.” Collected Essays on Library Resources. Ed. Cesar Caballero and Buckley Barrett. San Bernardino: Library Press International, 1999. 35-48. Print.

E-Book

Petry, Bonnie. African History Resources on the Continent. 2nd ed. New York: Divine Press, 1995. Google Book Search. Web. 3 Dec.2008.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip