ETEC 5430 (Leh) - Research in Instructional Design & Technology: Databases

Brief guide to resources to help find research materials for annotated bibliography and literature review.

Keywords

Subject Headings (aka Descriptors)

Subject headings of descriptors are specific terminology used by the editors of a database to describe the subject matter covered. Here are some examples of headings used by the ERIC and PsycINFO databases.

Descriptors
ERIC	APA
General topic areas: Educational Technology Technology Uses in Education Computer Uses in Education Online Courses Virtual Classrooms Web Based Instruction Student experience: Cooperative Learning Group Discussion Peer Influence Peer Relationship Learner Engagement Student Participation Student Motivation Student Role Evaluation of approach: Instructional Effectiveness Program Effectiveness	General topic areas: Distance Education Virtual Classrooms Electronic Learning Teleconferencing Videoconferencing Student experience: Teaching Methods Collaborative Learning Cooperative Learning

Key Education Technology Databases

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education Resources Information Center. Scholarly and professional resources in education for all age groups and all subjects.
Try our quick video tutorial for ERIC.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Major research index for psychology and related fields. Coverage includes journals, book chapters, and dissertations.
EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Popular magazine and scholarly journal index. Good starting point for most topics.
Try our quick video tutorial, Find Articles in a Library Database.
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) This link opens in a new window
Tracks citation patterns in the social sciences, from 1985 to the present. Also useful for keyword searching across a broad selection of social sciences journal literature.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Covers a variety of scholarly literature, including journals, books, and more. To easily find sources available through Pfau Library, look for the "Find it at CSUSB" link. (Use the Library Links option under "Settings.")
Dissertations & Theses: Humanities & Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 1 million dissertations and theses. Full text available for most from 1997-present.
Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular resources in all areas of education from 1929-1983. NOTE: Limited to 2 users at a time.