Historic Newspapers: Greater So-Cal Region and National: Online & Microfilm

Online

American Historical Periodicals, Parts 1-7 This link opens in a new window
Searchable digital images of more than 6,500 historical periodical titles dating from 1693 to 1923. Covers the American Colonial era through World War I and the start of the Roaring Twenties. Sourced from the American Antiquarian Society.

California Digital Newspaper Collection
Free, scanned editions of select California newspapers, primarily from 1846-1922.

California News from NewsBank This link opens in a new window
More than 200 local California newspapers, many unavailable in other sources. Includes the Sun and the Press-Enterprise. Dates covered are generally mid-2000's to the present.
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934 - 2010): ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of a Los Angeles newspaper produced by and for the Black community. Digital images available, fully searchable.
Los Angeles Times (1881 - 2015): ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digital images of the Los Angeles Times newspaper from its beginning in 1881 up to 8 years ago. Includes advertisements, graphics, and text. Fully searchable by keyword.
Los Angeles Times via ProQuest (current) This link opens in a new window
Dec. 4, 1996, to the present. Search or browse by date. Includes article text only; no photos, ads, or other graphics.
Los Angeles Times via ProQuest (older) This link opens in a new window
Jan. 1, 1985, to Dec. 3, 1996. Search or browse by date. Includes article text only; no photos, ads, or other graphics.
New York Times (1851 - 2020): ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digital images of the New York Times newspaper from its beginning in 1851 up to 3 years ago. Includes advertisements, graphics, and text. Fully searchable by keyword.

The following Southern California and national titles are also available on physical microfilm on the 4th floor of the Pfau Library:


Title	Available
Los Angeles Free Press	Jan. 1968 – Dec. 1974
Wall Street Journal	1926 – present