HSCI 4204 (Kethireddy) - Research Methods and Evaluation in Public Health: Access Research Databases and Published Articles

LibGuide for HSCI 4204

Identifying Scholarly Journal Articles

The library's databases have built-in options and features that will assist you in limiting your research to scholarly journal articles, but being able to recognize what you are looking at is very useful. A scholarly journal article will have:

An abstract, a summary of the article.
An introduction that describes what was studied and why it was studied. The hypothesis that was tested. Also, details of the methodology used--how the topic was studied according to scientific methods.
Results, which may include data.
Conclusions, which may be drawn from the results. May also be labeled as discussion or significance.
Bibliography or list of references, usually quite lengthy, with complete citations to everything the authors read before conducting their study.

Parts of a Scholarly Article

The Structure of an Article
Click here to see a detailed structure of an article with examples.

Using PubMed Database

Useful Databases for Public Health Research

Biological Abstracts
All aspects of life sciences, including biology, biochemistry, and biomedical research.
SpringerLink
Scholarly journals from Springer publishing, primarily science, technology, and medicine.
PubMed

World's largest index of scholarly medical and health sciences literature. Click on any article title to display the CSUSB "Search for Full Text" button. Our Library Guide to PubMed includes helpful tips and links to video demos.

APA Citation Resources

APA Citation Guide
A guide for the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style.
APA Citations in Bibliographies
Examples of proper citing of sources in your bibliography (also called a reference list).
APA 7E Reference List Citations Video (17m17s)
A complete video of the workshop content, with no interactive elements
APA 7E Reference List Citations Video with Interactive Scoring
Includes questions after each segment of material to reinforce your learning. Scoring is saved.
APA In-Text Citations
Examples of proper citing of sources in the text of your paper.
Workshop Calendar
Check our Workshop Calendar for current APA workshops.

YOU ALSO MAY BE INTERESTED IN:

Is it an Article, a Book, or a Chapter in a Book? Identifying Citations
No matter what style manual you are following (APA, MLA, etc.), you will need to learn how to recognize these three basic types of publications.