Skip to Main Content

Library resources and services for Graduate Students: Services and Resources

An overview of library services and resources for graduate students at CSUSB

Collections and finding what you need

The CSUSB Library is home to millions of print and digital materials, including print books, eBooks, print journals, eJournals, DVDs, streaming video, audio, archival primary sources, and much more. More information about our collections. 

Use CSUSB OneSearch to find books, articles, journals, media, maps, music, and more. For more search options, use Advanced Search.  [TIP: When using  OneSearch, it also a good idea to sign in to your library account so you can request materials, see full text results, and create favorite lists.]

Research Guides by Subjects: librarian-curated lists of databases and resources. 

Journals: Search the catalog for electronic and print journal titles.

Databases: Browse or search the A-Z list of library databases. You can filter by subject. 

Electronic Theses, Projects, and Dissertations

Special Collections and University Archives

Have questions?  Ask us for assistance. 

Find Thesis and Dissertations Written at CSUSB

What is CSUSB ScholarWorks?

CSUSB ScholarWorks is an open access institutional repository showcasing and preserving the research, scholarship, and publications of California State University, San Bernardino faculty, staff, and students. The repository is a service of the John M. Pfau Library.

Graduate students completing a master's thesis/project or a doctoral dissertation at CSUSB upload their work to CSUSB ScholarWorks as part of the process of finishing their degree. We hope you will you want to make your work Open Access, but if you prefer not to, there are options for restricting access to it.

CSUSB offers two levels of access to your manuscript:
  • Open Access: Once published, your manuscript is available freely on the Web, and others can easily discover it via Google Scholar.
  • Restricted Access: Your manuscript can only be accessed by CSUSB students, staff and faculty on campus or via off-campus login; only the citation and abstract are available on the Web.

Preparing to Write the Literature Review

A literature review surveys scholarly articles, books, dissertations, and conference proceedings relevant to your research problem, providing a description, summary, and critical evaluation of each work.  Preparing to Write the Literature Review Guide

Purpose of the literature review:

  • Provides a historical background for your research problem
  • Describes its current status
  • Supports the purpose of the study
  • Identifies gaps in the literature
  • Become aware of variables relevant to the problem
  • Understand the seminal studies widely cited
  • Identifies the leading scholars relevant to the problem 

(Lunenburg, 2008)

Copyright

Learn more about Copyright and using other's work in your own work using our Copyright and Fair Use Research Guide.