Library resources and services for Graduate Students: Getting Set up for Success

The library regularly hosts many useful workshops during the semester. These are held live via Zoom by a librarian, allowing you to interact with them and ask questions. Common workshops have included:

• How to use Zotero (citation management software)
• How to find scholarly articles
• How to use a specific database
• Citation Formatting Drop In Hours

Sign up is usually required. 

Research Assistance
(909) 537-5091
ref@csusb.edu

Service Desk
(909) 537-5090
circ@csusb.edu

Chat 24/7 Online with the Libraries. Ask us anything! Chat with a librarian, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with any research or library questions.

Email us using this contact form.

FAQ - Online answers to common questions.

 Email a Librarian

 Text your question to 909-542-8990

Schedule an appointment

Welcome to graduate school at CSUSB! We are glad to have you here. 

The CSUSB Library has various collections and services to support graduate students in their coursework and research at the University. Let's face it--there is a mountain of information out there, and we can give advice and support every step of the way.

How do I know if this article is scholarly? What is the difference between a primary and secondary source? What the heck is a literature review? Whether you are new to research, have some familiarity, or are a published research expert, we can answer all your questions and more. We will meet you where you are and tailor our services to your specific needs and topics. 

Please explore the sources listed here and reach out to a librarian for more information. We look forward to helping you along your graduate degree journey! 

Search All Our Databases From Home

Remote Access - CSUSB students can access our ebooks and all of our more than 150 databases from home.

Wifi Access

Wireless Network - The campus wireless network is Eduroam.  Log in with yourID#@csusb.edu and your normal MyCoyote password.

Borrow a Laptop

Laptop Lending - Several hundred laptops (Mac and Windows) are available for semester-long check out.  Laptop Lending.

In Case You Need It

Printing - Printing in the library can be complicated, particularly paying for it, if you are unprepared.  Prepare yourself with our guide, Printing in the Library.

Scanning & Faxing - Self-serve scanner next to the printers allows you to scan and save for free or send faxes.  Scanning and Faxing.

Study Rooms - Various study rooms are located throughout the library.  Most are group study rooms requiring 2 or more people, but a few individual study rooms are also available.  Reserve a study room online.

Virtual Library Multimedia Center - If you’re wondering how to create a great video, you’re in the right place! Here you’ll find links to free media production resources and some quick how-to videos to get you started.

Audiovisual Equipment Lending - There is a variety of audio-visual equipment available for check out to current students, faculty, and staff.

Innovation Lab - For students, free 3-D printing and scanning.   Innovation Lab Information

Innovation Studio - CSUSB Libraries' Innovation Studio is a multimedia production space open by appointment to all students at California State University, San Bernardino.

• Get to know your subject librarian. These are the subject experts who can provide in-depth research assistance, answer your questions about library services and resources, as well as take purchase requests for resources into consideration. They're available via email, phone, virtually, or in person. Fill out this consultation request form to set up a meeting.
• Discover your research guide(s). These are librarian-curated lists of databases and other resources especially relevant for your subject or discipline.
• Learn the different ways you can access library resources off-campus.
• Take a look at your My Library Account which shows your checked-out and requested items. You can also renew items here. Your My ILL Account shows items you've borrowed or requested from other libraries and requests for copies of articles and book chapters from CSUSB collections. 
• If you use Google Scholar, link Google Scholar to the CSUSB Library so you can get to full text easily.
• Learn about Citation & Information Management tools like Zotero or EndNote to organize your PDFs, create in-text citations and easily create a bibliography.

Textbooks

Course Reserves - We don't have all the required textbooks, but we might have yours.  There are two ways to search for them.

Resources From Other Libraries

Interlibrary Loan - If we don't have the article or book that you need, request it through our free Interlibrary Loan Service.  See our guide, Using Interlibrary Loan Services.

Self Help on Our Website

Library Guides - Written by CSUSB reference librarians especially for CSUSB students, our Library Guides present vital information on many topics to help you succeed.  Searchable.

Tutorials - Video tutorials recorded by CSUSB reference librarians.