ENG 5520 (Van Doren): Scholarly Articles
Ask Us!
Research Assistance
(909) 537-5091
ref@csusb.edu
Service Desk
(909) 537-5090
circ@csusb.edu
Chat 24/7 Online with a Librarian. Ask us anything! Chat with a librarian, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with any research or library questions.
Email us using this contact form.
FAQ - Online answers to common questions.
Text your question to 909-542-8990
Effective Searching
-
Phrase Searching and TruncationThis video demonstrates how to use truncation and phrase searching in the library’s databases.
-
Using Boolean OperatorsVideo demonstration on how to use Boolean operators AND, OR, and NOT to broaden or narrow database searches
Scholarly Articles
This page provides links to recommended databases and journals where you can find articles and clinical information for your research and practice.
Recommended Databases
-
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association. Note: All content in PsycARTICLES is already covered in PsycINFO.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Major research index for psychology and related fields. Coverage includes journals, book chapters, and dissertations.
-
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Current Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Covers scholarly and professional publications.
Our Library Guide to CINAHL includes helpful tips and links to video demos. -
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Focuses on linguistics and related disciplines. Indexes scholarly journals, dissertations, book chapters, and conference proceedings.
-
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text research database for communication studies. It offers hundreds of top communication journals, magazines and other sources covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, speech pathology, rhetoric, and discourse.
-
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and professional resources in education for all age groups and all subjects. See our Video Tutorial for ERIC.
PLEASE NOTE: Researchers should be aware that ERIC's coverage of current content is being reduced. Per DoE emails, "The Department of Education is working with the Department of Government Efficiency to ‘reduce overall Federal spending’ and ‘reallocate spending to promote efficiency’ (EO 14222). As a result, the number of records added to the ERIC collection will be significantly reduced going forward. The number of actively cataloged sources will be reduced by approximately 45% starting April 24, 2025." -
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
From Elsevier, scholarly journals in science, technology, medicine, and many other disciplines.
Try our quick video tutorial for ScienceDirect.
-
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Current Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Covers scholarly and professional publications.
Our Library Guide to CINAHL includes helpful tips and links to video demos. -
PubMed This link opens in a new window
World's largest index of scholarly medical and health sciences literature. Click on any article title to display the CSUSB "Search for Full Text" button. Our Library Guide to PubMed includes helpful tips and links to video demos.
-
Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Use this database to identify articles and find the full text with OneSearch.
-
speechBITEspeechBITE is a database of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice. Use this database to identify articles and find the full text with OneSearch.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new window
World's largest index of scholarly medical and health sciences literature. Click on any article title to display the CSUSB "Search for Full Text" button. Our Library Guide to PubMed includes helpful tips and links to video demos.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
From Elsevier, scholarly journals in science, technology, medicine, and many other disciplines.
Try our quick video tutorial for ScienceDirect.
Audiology & Speech-Language Pathology Journals
-
American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology Addresses all aspects of clinical practice in speech-language pathology, including screening, assessment and treatment techniques; prevention, professional issues, supervision and administration.
-
Augmentative and Alternative Communication Original reports on the development of communication competence in persons with severe speech and/or communication impairments. Integrates theory, technology, research & systems development.
-
Brain and Language All articles relate to human language and relevantce to the understanding of its neurobiological and neurocognitive bases.
-
Hearing Research Provide a forum for papers concerned with basic peripheral and central auditory mechanisms. Emphasis is on experimental and clinical studies.
-
Trends in Hearing Original research and reviews focusing on human hearing, hearing loss, hearing aids, auditory implants, and aural rehabilitation.