AH 3210: Visualizing Gender, Performing Identity (Bayles): Art History Resources
Recommended Library Databases (Articles and Encyclopedias)
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window(CSUSB users only.) Good starting point to find encyclopedia-style entries on artists, regions, styles, and periods.
- Art Index This link opens in a new window(CSUSB users only.) Covers articles from a wide variety of art-related publications.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) This link opens in a new window(CSUSB users only.) Useful for keyword searching across a broad selection of humanities journal literature.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window(CSUSB users only.) Full text archive that includes many scholarly art-related journals.
Web Resources
- Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History (Metropolitan Museum of Art)The timeline runs from prehistory to modern day and includes maps, essays, images, and various ways to browse the timeline. This is a great place to begin your research.
- SmarthistorySmarthistory was designed to be an alternative to the typical art history textbook. You can search by period, style, artist, and even theme. You’ll find videos, images, essays, and suggestions for further reading.
- Khan Academy: Art HistoryFree educational site exploring art history through video, images, and text.
- ArtcyclopediaSite that aggregates information about and images by artists from across the web.
Be warned that some of their links to specific works at museums won't connect. Despite that, it's still worth checking, because many of the museums won't show up in a general Google search. - Arch NetA free online tool that hosts images, descriptions, timelines and image collections of Islamic architecture from around the world.
- Rhizome ArtbaseA free online archive of digital works that has been around since 1999. Submissions to the archive are reviewed by a curatorial staff.
Museum and Gallery Websites
- Victoria and Albert MuseumIn addition to its online collection, this museum groups related materials through subject, period and style pages. On these pages you can find information on exhibitions, study guides, and even essays and bibliographies.
- MoMA: Museum of Modern ArtLook under the Explore tab to find multimedia, videos, and the online image collection. Use the Learn tab and follow the Research and resources link to contact the library, archives or research centers.
- LouvreThe Louvre offers many interactive tools to learn about art like their mini sites and virtual tours.
- San Francisco Musuem of Modern ArtSFMOMA offers a wide range of lectures and interviews through their multimedia pages under the “Explore Modern Art” tab. You can also browse their online collection.
- Walker Art CenterThe museum's website looks more like an online magazine. Here, you'll find a terrific set of curated blogs on various disciplines, videos, online exhibitions, and more.
Books
- Books & Media (CSUSB) from OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Find books (ebooks, hard-copy) & media (video: streaming, DVD, Blu-ray; audio: streaming, CD), government documents, and more available from the CSUSB Libraries.
Library books at CSUSB are cataloged with Library of Congress Subject Headings. To explore items catalogued under the subject of art history, you may want to use terms for stylistic periods (Renaissance, Fauvism), artist names, and the term art history.
Though the online catalog is a great tool, sometimes it's helpful to go and browse the resources in the library. Art history is a huge topic. In fact, all books with a call number starting with N are about some topic in the visual arts. If you go to the library, you might want to start in the following call number ranges: N5300-7418 (Art history- includes items about individual artists), N7429.7-7433 (Technique, composition and style), N7475-7483 (Art Criticism). Photography is mostly in the TR ranges; woodworking, textiles, and ceramics are all in TT ranges. For a more detailed breakdown of the visual arts call numbers, check the N classification breakdown (PDF) and T classification breakdown (PDF).
Critical Terms for Art History by Call Number: N34 .C75 2003 (3rd Floor)ISBN: 0226571661Publication Date: 2003
Selected Journals & Magazines
- Art in AmericaPfau Library's online subscription.
- ArtForum International (text-only, no graphics)Pfau Library's online subscription.
- Art HistoryPfau Library's online subscription.
- Journal of Aesthestics & Art CriticismPfau Library's online subscription.
- Art JournalPfau Library's online subscription.
- OctoberPfau Library's online subscription.
Parkett Art Magazine is available only in print in the VRC.