Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course Reserves Search
Use the Course Reserves List to check for items currently on Reserve in Pfau Library; in order by course number.
The Social Psychology of Disability by
Call Number: HV1568 .D86 2015
Publication Date: 2014-12-08
This is the first book to systematically review, update, organize, and critique the literature on the social psychology of disability in 30 years. The book gives pride of place to classic as well as contemporary concepts from the social psychology of disability and rehabilitation psychology that researchers and clinicians can use or adapt for their professional venues. The book's overarching message is an important one: The experience of most people with disabilities is not what nondisabled persons anticipate--contrary to the latter's beliefs and expectations, the former can lead full and normal lives. Thus, The Social Psychology of Disability is designed to counter stereotypical or biased perspectives aimed at an often overlooked minority group. The primary audience for the book is rehabilitation researchers and clinicians in psychology and allied fields (e.g., social work, nursing). A secondary audience includes policy makers and graduate students in rehabilitation and clinical psychology, as well as interested undergraduates.
CRC Examination Preparation by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
This user-friendly new study guide will help graduate students and professionals in rehabilitation counseling to prepare thoroughly for the CRC® examination. It provides a complete, detailed review of the CRC exam built on the most recent, empirically based rehabilitation counselor roles and function studies. Each chapter contains a concise overview of the topic, summary tables of key concepts, practice questions with annotated answers, and links to related web-based materials. Key Features: Covers 10 core curriculum areas Features 2010 approved core standards Provides 300 test questions and answers Describes key terms and concepts Includes tables and charts to clarify information "Certified Rehabilitation Counselor Examination Preparation" is written by rehabilitation counselors and content experts well known in their field for teaching effectiveness, research, and scholarship. It is geared for master's and doctoral-level students in rehabilitation counseling, psychology and disability studies, as well as Licensed Professional Counselors. It will also be of value to master's-level students in their day-to-day preparation for individual classes in theory, assessment, and job placement. Note: This book is not endorsed or in any other way supported by the Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor Certification (CRCC).
Handbook of Disability Studies by
Call Number: HV1568.2 .H36 2001 OVERSIZE
Publication Date: 2001-05-24
This path-breaking Handbook of Disability Studies signals the emergence of a vital new area of scholarship, social policy and activism. Drawing on the insights of disability scholars around the world and the creative advice of an international editorial board, the book engages the reader in the critical issues and debates framing disability studies and places them in an historical and cultural context. Five years in the making, this one volume summarizes the ongoing discourse ranging across continents and traditional academic disciplines. The Handbook answers the need expressed by the disability community for a thought provoking, interdisciplinary, international examination of the vibrant field of disability
Encyclopedia of Counseling by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2007-12-17
In the third edition of Howard Rosenthal's best-selling test preparation guide for the National Counselor Examination (NCE), students get more help than ever with an expanded section on marriage and family counseling, new material on web counseling, and updated material throughout. This resource now includes over 1,050 tutorial questions/answers and a new "Final Review and Last Minute Super Review Boot Camp" section. This guide is an ideal review tool for state licensing, the NCC credential, and preparation for written and oral boards. And because the new Counselor Preparation Comprehensive Examination (CPCE), draws from the same subject areas, the Encyclopedia is a perfect study guide for the CPCE as well. Written in a unique question/answer format, with a quick reference index, this is also an essential student reference volume for use in any counseling, social work, or human services course.
Practical Pharmacology in Rehabilitation by
Call Number: RM300 .C37 2014 OVERSIZE
Publication Date: 2013-08-19
"Practical Pharmacology in Rehabilitation: Effect of Medication on Therapy With Web Resource" serves as a textbook for students and a reference book for practicing rehabilitation professionals. Rather than discussing pharmacology as it relates to only a limited segment of rehabilitation professions, this text takes an interdisciplinary approach to the effects of medications on rehabilitation patients and assists rehabilitation professionals in designing patient-specific therapy plans based on coexisting disease states. "Practical Pharmacology in Rehabilitation" explains the necessary pharmacology and then focuses on the relationship between medications and the rehabilitation process. It offers a proactive approach to educating the patient and caregiver, monitoring the patient for side effects, and modifying therapy plans to provide the most effective and safe therapy for each patient. Written by a clinical pharmacist, a speech-language pathologist, and a physical therapist and athletic trainer, this unique guide helps readers in these ways: - Optimize rehabilitation sessions with appropriately timed and dosed administration of medication. - Understand the effects of medication on cognition and learning necessary for accomplishing the tasks of rehabilitation. - Identify medication-associated issues affecting the rehabilitation progress, such as dysphagia and problems with muscle function. - Work with patients, caregivers, staff, and physicians to determine appropriate interventions regarding medication use in patients. In each chapter, Patient Cases based on the authors' clinical experiences engage readers in understanding how medications can positively or negatively affect the rehabilitation process. Readers will need to consider the role of various medications, drug interactions, and drug intolerances on speech and language, cognition, and ADL and motor functioning as they apply concepts to determine possible solutions to each case. Throughout the text more than 100 easy-to-use tables provide quick access to information, including potential side effects affecting rehabilitation for common medications used in treatment for many conditions and other possible side effects or considerations. Expanded versions of many of these tables are offered as downloadable PDFs in the accompanying web resource. Those tables provide more complete and in-depth coverage by breaking medications down by class, indications, dosage, and potential side effects or interactions. "Practical Pharmacology in Rehabilitation" begins by presenting foundational concepts necessary for understanding clinical disease states and the impact of medications used for treatment on rehabilitation. Chapters that follow are grouped by categories of clinical disease covering psychiatric and cognitive disorders, neurologic and movement disorders, chronic pain syndromes and substance abuse disorders, immune system disorders, and common chronic diseases such as diabetes, cardiac disease, thyroid and parathyroid disease, respiratory diseases, gastrointestinal diseases, and dysphagia. Each chapter begins with a definition of the condition or special population that it focuses on. Chapters are organized to provide an overview of the pathophysiology, pharmacology, mechanism of action, dosing and monitoring for effects, drug and food interactions, side effects and effects on rehabilitation, and the role of various rehabilitation specialists for each disease state. Summaries conclude each chapter to reinforce the important concepts covered. A glossary is included, and terms are boldfaced in the text to denote their inclusion. A medication index, an index of important terms, and an appendix with information on administering medications using iontophoresis and phonophoresis are also included. With "Practical Pharmacology in Rehabilitation," students in rehabilitation and related health care fields can gain essential knowledge to prevent advers
DSM-5 Learning Companion for Counselors by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2014-11-03
Written for an audience that includes private practitioners; counselors working in mental health centers, psychiatric hospitals, employee assistance programs, and other community settings; as well as counselor educators and their students, this helpful guide breaks down the concepts and terminology in the DSM-5 and explains how this diagnostic tool translates to the clinical situations encountered most frequently by counselors. After describing the major structural, philosophical, and diagnostic changes in the DSM-5, the book is organized into four parts, which are grouped by diagnostic similarity and relevance to counselors. Each chapter outlines the key concepts of each disorder, including major diagnostic changes; essential features; special considerations; differential diagnosis; coding, recording, and specifiers; and, where applicable, new or revised criteria. Clinical vignettes help both clinicians and students visualize and understand DSM-5 disorders. Author notes throughout the text assist readers in further understanding and applying new material.
Disability Research Today by
Call Number: HV1568 .D56946 2015
Publication Date: 2015-03-30
Grouped around four central themes - illness and impairment, disabling processes, care and control, and communication and representations - this collection offers a fresh perspective on disability research, showing how theory and data can be brought together in new and exciting ways. Disability Research Today starts by showing how engaging with issues around illness and impairment is vital to a multidisciplinary understanding of disability as a social process. The second section explores factors that affect disabled people, such as homelessness, violence and unemployment. The third section turns to social care, and how disabled people are prevented from living with independence and dignity. Finally, the last section examines how different imagery and technology impacts our understandings of disability and deafness. Showcasing empirical work from a range of countries, including Japan, Norway, Italy, Australia, India, the UK, Turkey, Finland and Iceland, this collection shows how disability studies can be simultaneously sophisticated, accessible and policy-relevant. Disability Research Today is suitable for students and researchers in disability studies, sociology, social policy, social work, nursing and health studies.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by
Call Number: RC455.2.C4 D536 2013
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5® easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
Routledge Handbook of Disability Studies by
Publication Date: 2012-03-05
The Routledge Handbook of Disability Studies takes a multidisciplinary approach to disability and provides an authoritative and up-to-date overview of the main issues in the field around the world today. Adopting an international perspective and consisting entirely of newly commissioned chapters arranged thematically, it surveys the state of the discipline, examining emerging and cutting edge areas as well as core areas of contention. Divided in five sections, this comprehensive handbook covers: different models and approaches to disability how key impairment groups have engaged with disability studies and the writings within the discipline policy and legislation responses to disability studies and to disability activism disability studies and its interaction with other disciplines, such as history, philosophy and science and technology studies disability studies and different life experiences, examining how disability and disability studies intersects with ethnicity, sexuality, gender, childhood and ageing. Containing chapters from an international selection of leading scholars, this authoritative handbook is an invaluable reference for all academics, researchers and more advanced students in disability studies and associated disciplines such as sociology, health studies and social work.