Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below are listed the most productive databases for research in your field.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Current Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Predominantly scholarly and professional publications.
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Criminology, criminal justice, law enforcement, and related disciplines. Covers scholarly and professional publications.
Dissertations & Theses: Humanities & Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 1 million dissertations and theses. Full text available for most from 1997-present.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education Resources Information Center. Scholarly and professional resources in education for all age groups and all subjects.
Try our quick video tutorial for ERIC
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Major research index for psychology and related fields. Coverage includes journals, book chapters, and dissertations.
PubMed (a.k.a. MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
World's largest index of scholarly medical and health sciences literature. Click on any article title to display the CSUSB "Search for Full Text" button.
Try our quick video tutorial for PubMed
Science Citation Index (SCI) This link opens in a new window
Tracks citation patterns in 8,500 natural sciences journals; covers 2009-present. Also useful for keyword searching across a broad selection of science-oriented journal literature.
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) This link opens in a new window
Tracks citation patterns in the social sciences, from 1985 to the present. Also useful for keyword searching across a broad selection of social sciences journal literature.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and professional publications in social work, human services, and related areas.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research in sociology and related fields. Covers journals, books, conference papers, and more.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
Produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs' National Center for PTSD; indexes worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma.
Best Free Online Resources
National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC)
"REHABDATA, produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 80,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present."
National Clearinghouse of Rehabilitation Training Materials (NCRTM)
"The NCRTM offers the vocational rehabilitation and education communities, grantees, researchers, trainers and practitioners the opportunity to gain visibility for their work, while contributing new knowledge to their specific fields. Use the main search and archived materials to find and disseminate training resources related to curricula, accredited courses, RSA grantee materials and more."
CIRRIE Database of International Rehabilitation Research
"The CIRRIE Database of International Rehabilitation Research currently contains over 165,000 citations of international rehabilitation research published between 1990 and the present."
Occupational Therapy Systematic Evaluation of Evidence
"OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for their validity and interpretability. In one database, OTseeker provides fast and easy access to information from a wide range of sources to inform occupational therapy."