Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Rehabilitation Counseling: Other Resources

A guide for students for resources for rehabilitation counseling at the Pfau Library.

Introduction

While article databases are the most common method of collection research on a topic, sometimes other materials or techniques are necessary. This page offers information on finding books, chapters in books, and citation chasing.

Chapters in Books

CSUSB's OneSearch -- If the Pfau Library has it, it will be in the catalog. But make sure to search by the book's title NOT by the chapter's or essay's title.

Books

CSUSB's OneSearch - If the Pfau Library has it, it will be in the catalog. Otherwise, search the CSU's OneSearch and use CSU+ to order from another CSU campus.

Melvyl - all UC Libraries

Library of Congress - 

 

ERIC Documents

The library has ERIC documents on microfiche, which you will need to ask for at the Circulation Desk. However, some ERIC documents (EDs) are available in full text.

Citation Chasing from Paper Bibliographies

Citation Finder

When you have a complete article citation but don't know which database it might be in, if any, it's time for Citation Finder. Do NOT fill in the form completely, as that often results in a false negative. Fill in only the author's last name, journal name, and year of publication, as show in the example below.

 

citation finder with journal title, year, and author last name filled in

Do not use this resource as a subject search, only for a specific article citation.

Citation Chasing in Electronic Bibliographies

PsycInfo is one of the few databases that allows you to search a bibliography, using blue "Cited References" link in the list view.

Use the blue, search-for-full-text button to search for these items in our other full-text databases.

Social Sciences Citation Index

Social Sciences Citation Index will display articles that have cited an article, display the bibliography, and allows searching by the blue, Search for Full Text button, and sort results by number of times the item is cited.

To the right, the "Times Cited" is circled in red. Click the number and see the articles that have used this article.  The red arrow highlights the blue, Search for Full Text button to find the article in one of our full-text databases.

Location of times cited link circled in red and blue, Search for Full Text button pointed at with red arrow

If you click on the title, you will see an abstract. You will also be given the chance to view the bibliography of the article by clicking on the "Cited References" link. You may then start to search for the bibliography's items using the blue, Search for Full Text button.

Closer look at citation record with "cited references" circled in red to highlight it.

Tutorials and Workshops

The Pfau Library offers workshops specifically for graduate students. Please see our workshop calendar and register.

But you can always consult with a reference librarian for any library- or research-related question, or learn about the services the library officers.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Lisa Bartle
Contact:
PL-053E
909-537-7552