Rehabilitation Counseling: Finding and Evaluating an Instrument
A guide for students for resources for rehabilitation counseling at the Pfau Library.
Evaluating an Instrument
- From the Buros Institute. Contains information on and critical reviews of educational, personality, aptitude, achievement, and intelligence tests, plus listings of tests and measures currently in print. NOTE: Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
4st FL BF176 .T419
Includes a critique of each instrument. Focuses primarily on psychology, education, and business tests.
1st FL REF BF431 Z542 2006
The most comprehensive index to commercially available tests published in English, this volume contains information on more than four thousand testing instruments. Detailed descriptions of each test include specific data on its purpose, target population, scoring, and pricing.
The most comprehensive index to commercially available tests published in English, this volume contains information on more than four thousand testing instruments. Detailed descriptions of each test include specific data on its purpose, target population, scoring, and pricing.
Tests by Taddy Maddox
1st FL REF BF176 .T43 2008
Brief description of instruments with purchasing information. All purchase, none free or cited.
Brief description of instruments with purchasing information. All purchase, none free or cited.
Books with Instruments
Measures for Clinical Practice: A Sourcebook
This set contains instruments selected because they measure common problems and they are relatively short and easy to score and administer. Volume one covers tests for couples, families and children, while volume two covers measures for adults with problems outside of the family. Texts of tests are available. There is an alphabetical table of contents by title for each category of measurement, as well as a cross-reference listing by problem measured.
Handbook of sexuality-related measures
This title contains many measures related to matters sexual: beliefs, attitudes, and behavior. Most measures are included, as well as information on scoring, reliability, validity, etc.
Handbook of tests and measurement in education and the social sciences
Written chiefly for teachers and guidance counselors, this handbook includes descriptions and samples of 120 tests and instruments arranged by 36 topics. The book includes both published and unpublished tools.
Communication Research Measures Vol 1
This sourcebook profiles tools that researchers can use for self-administered measurement of people's attitudes, conceptions of themselves, and perceptions of others.
Communication Research Measures Vol 2
Volume 2 provides up-to-date measures and recent scales and indexes used to assess communication variables.
Gender Roles: A Handbook of Tests and Measures
3rd FL HM253 .B43 1990
This book profiles 211 measures produced from 1977 to 1988, emphasizing gender roles and related attitudes. If you find the citation information for the test you want in this book, use the Citation Finder to see if we have the journal the test is in.
This book profiles 211 measures produced from 1977 to 1988, emphasizing gender roles and related attitudes. If you find the citation information for the test you want in this book, use the Citation Finder to see if we have the journal the test is in.
Measures for Clinical Practice and Research
1st FL REF BF176 .C66 2007 v.1-2
A collection of assessments. Note there are earlier editions the library also owns.
A collection of assessments. Note there are earlier editions the library also owns.
Books Pointing to Instruments
- Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures1st FL REF BF431 .G625 v.6-9
These volumes cite unpublished, experimental tests appearing in journals in psychology, sociology, education and interdisciplinary social science journals. Entries provide a brief description, and a reference to the journal in which it appeared. - Measures for Psychological Assessment: A Guide to 3,000 Original Sources and their Applications4th FL BF698.5 .C45
This book provides a comprehensive bibliography of the tests and measurements available in 26 psychology and sociology journals published from 1960-1970. - Sex and Gender Issues: A Handbook of Tests and Measures4th FL BF692 .B38 1990
This book describes 197 instruments which measure interpersonal relationships and sexuality, such as abortion, contraception, rape, dating, and homosexuality.
If you find the citation information for the test you want in this book, use the Citation Finder to see if we have the journal the test is in. - Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques3rd FL HQ728 .T68 1989
This title gives accounts of 976 instruments from the field of family studies covering 1939-1989.
If you find the citation information for the test you want in this book, use the Citation Finder to see if we have the journal the test is in.
Finding Instruments
- TestLink This link opens in a new windowInformation on tests, measures, and other research instruments. Open Access.
- Ericae.net -- Clearinghouse on Assessment and EvaluationA sub-section of ETS for instruments in ERIC or ERIC indexed periodicals.
- Center for Equity and Excellence in Education Test DatabaseThe Region III Comprehensive Center at George Washington University's Center for Equity and Excellence in Education (CEEE) and the Clearinghouse on Assessment and Evaluation at the University of Maryland's Department of Education are pleased to bring you the CEEE Test Database. This is a collection of abstracts and descriptions of almost 200 tests commonly used with Limited English Proficient students.
- Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests Available in Compilation VolumesThis website indexes tests and measurements from over 136 publications, with about 12,000 measures. You get the title of the book the test is in, along with whatever full text may be available online.
To Search:
Type your topic and "compilation volumes"
(for example: self esteem "compilation volumes")
To Browse:
Click on the "Collections Examined" link to browse the list.
If you find a test you want in a book, your next step is to see if we own the book. Do a Title search in the Pfau Library's catalog below.
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowPfau Library's broadest search. Find articles, books, media and more; at CSUSB and at all CSU libraries.
ERIC
Open the ERIC database.
Click on "Advanced Search" below the search box.
In the first box, type your topic, such as self esteem.
Scroll down the page to the section "Publication Type." Select "Tests/Questionnaires."
PsycInfo
Open PsycINFO.
Click on "Advanced Search" below the search box.
In the first box, type in your topic, such as self-esteem. Leave the drop-down box as is.
In the next box, type the word appended. Change the drop-down box to TM Tests & Measures.
Press the Search button.
Dissertations and Theses
Open Dissertations & Theses: Humanities & Social Sciencess
Click on "Advanced Search" above the search box.
In the first box, type your topic such as self esteem. Leave the drop-down box as is.
In the next box, type the words measure* or instrument. Change the drop-down box to "Abstract -- AB."
In the next box, type the word appended. Change the drop-down box to "Abstract -- AB."
Click the Search button.
