Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Maximize Your Full Text!: Full Text Found in Another Database

Having a difficult time finding full text for the articles you want? You need this Library Guide! #articles #full text

 

Decorative header

STEP 1: ONLY ONE FULL TEXT LINK

When you find an article you like that only has a Full text available link, click that link or the title of the article to go to the next screen.

 

Article: Pterodactyl by Chrisopher Salermo in Mississippi Review, 2012, Vol. 39 (1/3), p.843-843 Peer Reviewed Full text available.

STEP 2: ONLY ONE LINK

On the next screen, click the name of the database that has the full text.  In this example, it's JSTOR Arts and Sciences V.

Available online at: JSTOR Arts and Sciences V.

When there is more than one database link, always compare the year of the article you want (underlined in red) to the years available in the databases (also underlined in red).  In this example, you need 2010.  The first database begins coverage in 1880, the second one in 1997, so 2010 is available from either one of them.

Article: Tyrannosaurus Revisited in Science (American Association for the Advancement of Science), 2010, vol. 329 (5998), p. 1437-1437, Peer Reviewed.

STEP 1: MULTIPLE FULL TEXT LINKS

When you find an article you like that has multiple links, you can bypass STEP 2 by clicking either Get PDF or Read Online.

Links: Get PDF, Read Online, Full text available.

The Read Online link will take you to the HTML version of the article.  The exact same article appears in both the PDF and HTML versions.  The difference is a matter of preference--the PDF usually has a better font and better graphics.

Decorative footer