Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide offers selected tools to help you find supporting literature and other materials for your term paper/presentation in this course. One very useful tool for locating relevant material is OneSearch, the library's main search engine. For more tools, see the Databases tab.
Zotero is a useful citation manager system that allows you to capture, manage and edit references to all sorts of materials, and can generate citations for you and create a bibliography for your paper in seconds. For your paper, you will have to use the IEEE style manual, which is one of the many styles available in Zotero.
The Purdue Online Writing Lab offers an overview of IEEE style as well as a link to the manual.
The Big Data Agenda by
This book highlights that the capacity for gathering, analysing, and utilising vast amounts of digital (user) data raises significant ethical issues. Annika Richterich provides a systematic contemporary overview of the field of critical data studies that reflects on practices of digital data collection and analysis. The book assesses in detail one big data research area: biomedical studies, focused on epidemiological surveillance. Specific case studies explore how big data have been used in academic work. The Big Data Agenda concludes that the use of big data in research urgently needs to be considered from the vantage point of ethics and social justice. Drawing upon discourse ethics and critical data studies, Richterich argues that entanglements between big data research and technology/internet corporations have emerged. In consequence, more opportunities for discussing and negotiating emerging research practices and their implications for societal values are needed.
Publication Date: 2018-04-13
The Sixth Edition of CyberEthics: Morality and Law in Cyberspace provides a comprehensive examination of the social costs and moral issues emerging from the ever-expanding use of the internet and new information technologies. Focusing heavily on content control, free speech, intellectual property, and security, the sixth edition offers a legal and philosophical discussion of these critical issues.
Publication Date: 2016-02-01
Encyclopedia of Gender and Information Technology
The ""Encyclopedia of Gender and Information Technology"" is the only reference work that provides an all-encompassing perspective on the way gender and information technology impact each other. Hundreds of leading international experts have compiled their research about the role of gender in human interaction with IT and the IT profession. This innovative encyclopedia contains thousands of key terms and their definitions in order to supply readers with the most complete understanding of the subject. These two volumes also include over 200 entries with extensive reference sections listing additional works on gender and information technology in order to stimulate further research. The ""Encyclopedia of Gender and Information Technology"" is a must-have publication for every library.
Publication Date: 2006-06-30
The Handbook of Information and Computer Ethics by
This handbook provides an accessible overview of the most important issues in information and computer ethics. It covers: foundational issues and methodological frameworks; theoretical issues affecting property, privacy, anonymity, and security; professional issues and the information-related professions; responsibility issues and risk assessment; regulatory issues and challenges; access and equity issues. Each chapter explains and evaluates the central positions and arguments on the respective issues, and ends with a bibliography that identifies the most important supplements available on the topic.
Publication Date: 2008-09-19
The Handbook of Privacy Studies by
The Handbook of Privacy Studies is the first book in the world that brings together several disciplinary perspectives on privacy, such as the legal, ethical, medical, informatics and anthropological perspective. Privacy is in the news almost every day: mass surveillance by intelligence agencies, the use of social media data for commercial profit and political microtargeting, password hacks and identity theft, new data protection regimes, questionable reuse of medical data, and concerns about how algorithms shape the way we think and decide. This book offers interdisciplinary background information about these developments and explains how to understand and properly evaluate them. The book is set up for use in interdisciplinary educational programmes. Each chapter provides a structured analysis of the role of privacy within that discipline, its characteristics, themes and debates, as well as current challenges. Disciplinary approaches are presented in such a way that students and researchers from every scientific background can follow the argumentation and enrich their own understanding of privacy issues.
Publication Date: 2018-10-16
The Routledge Companion to Business Ethics by
The field of business ethics continues to expand intellectually and geographically. During the past five decades, scholars have developed and deepened their inquiries into the ethics of commercial and corporate conduct. This Companion provides a novel overview of the discipline of business ethics, covering the major areas of the field as well as new and emerging topics. The eight thematic units range over an extraordinary set of subjects and include chapters on the history and pedagogy of business ethics, moral philosophy, the nature of business, responsibilities within the firm, economic institutions, the 2008 financial crisis, globalization, and business ethics in different regions of the world. Led by a well-respected editorial team, this unique volume gathers an international array of experts whose various critical approaches yield insights from areas such as public policy, economics, law, and history, in addition to business and philosophy. With its fresh analyses, wide scope, and clarity of approach, this volume will be an essential addition to library collections in business, management, and applied ethics.
Publication Date: 2018-02-12
Need Research Help?
Subjects: About the Library
, Citing & Writing
, Controversial Topics: Pro & Con
, Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and More
, Faculty Guides
, Grants & Fellowships
, Interlibrary Loan
, Newspapers - Local & Regional
, Newspapers - National & International
, Other Guides
, Print, Scan, & Fax Instructions
, Research Skills
, Statistical Data
, Tests & Measures