Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Find the Full Text of a Known Article in OneSearch: Here's How You Do That

Maybe your professor gave you a reading list. Maybe you found an interesting article cited in a bibliography or list of references. Now you have to find the full text and there is nothing to click on! Includes a video version of the instructions.

 

Colorful, decorative horizontal line.

You know which article you want but all you have is the citation for it.

Maybe your professor gave you a reading list.  Maybe you found an interesting article cited in a bibliography or list of references.  Now you have to find the full text and there is nothing to click on!

YOU ALSO MAY BE INTERESTED IN:

A KNOWN ARTICLE - TEXT VERSION

A CITATION FOR A SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLE:

                    On dormancy strategies in tardigrades

                    Guidetti, Roberto, Journal of Insect Physiology,

                    2011, Vol. 57(5), pp. 567-576.

Type the complete title of the article into OneSearch and choose Articles.  NOTE: If it's a really long title, you can try typing in just the first five or six words.

Title search in OneSearch for tardigrade article.

Did you get an exact match that has the green Full text available link?  Click on the link.

Matching search result for tardigrade article.

On the next screen, scroll down to find the blue link to the database that has the full text of the article.  Click on the link to go to the database and get the full text.

A link to the full text in ScienceDirect Journals.

 

I DIDN'T FIND MY ARTICLE!  HELP!

If you do not find the full text, then follow the steps on this page of our guide Get Articles This Library Doesn’t Have to place an order for it through our ILLiad service.

You also can get help in person from a librarian at the Research Assistance Desk or online through our Ask a Librarian service.

A KNOWN ARTICLE - VIDEO VERSION

See all of the steps demonstrated with several different examples.

ANOTHER USE FOR THIS STRATEGY

CHECKING AN ARTICLE'S REFERENCES TO FIND MORE ARTICLES ON YOUR TOPIC

    Here is an excellent way to find more articles on your topic.  If you find at least one scholarly journal article you like, view the full text, and check the list of references at the end.  Some of our databases will provide links to the references; some don't.  If there are no links, all you have to do is copy the title of the article, paste in into OneSearch and follow the directions above.