Skip to main content

OneSearch User's Guide: Introduction

Explore, and take advantage of, OneSearch's many features. Learn how to limit your searches so you find exactly what you want. #1search #onesearch #books #articles #media

Decorative Header

WE REGRET THAT UNTIL THE CORONAVIRUS CRISIS IS OVER, PHYSICAL ITEMS (BOOKS, MEDIA, ETC.) ARE UNAVAILABLE FOR USE. THIS INCLUDES PHYSICAL ITEMS AT ALL CSU LIBRARIES.

HOWEVER, THE PFAU LIBRARY'S ONLINE ARTICLES, EBOOKS, AND STREAMING MEDIA ARE ALL STILL AVAILABLE FOR USE.

What is Onesearch and Why Do We Have It?

The word, "Introduction."

     ONESEARCH is the library system used by all CSU libraries.  Individual libraries can customize OneSearch's appearance and details, but the system's functionality will be the same.  This makes it possible for anyone at any CSU library to tap into the shared resources (books, media, and more) of all the CSUs.

     PLEASE NOTE that some resources, particularly most article databases, are library-specific and cannot legally be shared online with anyone other than people associated with that library's campus due to database company restrictions.  Therefore, a CSUSB student will not be able to search an article database that the John M. Pfau Library does not subscribe to.

Signing in is Important!

Get into the habit of signing in whenever you use OneSearch.  Why?  Signing in opens your My Library Account, unlocks the full functionality of OneSearch, and gives you maximum access:

  • View loan periods (how long you can keep something you check out).
  • Save lists of items.
  • Save search strategies.
  • Request items from other CSU libraries via CSU+.  Use this feature when we don't own the item you want or it is checked out by someone else.

Look for this section of the top tool bar.

Screenshot of sign in to My Library Account. 

See our guide, My Library Account, for more information.

Go to OneSearch

OneSearch

Look for this search box on our website (www.csusb.edu/library) or use the link below.  When you begin typing something into the search, the menu of search options appears.

OneSearch showing drop down menu options.

WHAT EACH OPTION SEARCHES

With Links to Detailed, Illustrated Instructions

Everything

All content and materials available from the Pfau Library (articles, books, media, etc.) and all books and media from the entire CSU system.  See this page of our guide, Searching Everything.  To search for children's books, government documents, or specific types of media, choose from the tabs at the top of the page.

Articles

All articles from CSUSB's more-than-150-databases-strong Deep Web.  This includes ALL types of articles: newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal (peer-reviewed).  Many of them will be full text, but not all of them.  See this page of our guide, Searching for Articles.  You also might be interested in our guide, Maximize Your Full Text!

Books & Media (CSUSB)

All books and media available from the Pfau Library.  See this page of our guide, Searching for Books: Print and E.  To search for children's books, government documents, or specific types of media, choose from the tabs at the top of this page.

Books & Media (all CSU)

All books and media available from the Pfau Library and all books and media from the entire CSU system.  This search option allows you (when you are signed in) to order books from other CSU library with our CSU+ service.  See this page of our guide, Searching for Books: Print and E and also The CSU+ Service.  To search for specific types of media, choose from the tabs at the top of this page.

Course Reserves

Current CSUSB textbooks.  We do not have current textbooks for every CSUSB class, but we have a lot of them.  See this page of our guide, Course Reserves (Textbooks).

Thin green line.