Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Library Databases
CQ Researcher is a magazine that tackles a different topic of public debate each week; includes background, summary of issues, a pro/con argument, and links to further resources. Stuck for a paper idea? Browse by topic or date.
Global Newsstream (formerly ProQuest Newsstand)
Looking for news and current info? Try this large newspaper database.
Alt-PressWatch includes news from the "alternative press," outside the mainstream media.
Field Polls: Search
Public opinion polls specific to California.
Small collection of reference books; includes "The Reference Shelf" series on controversial topics.
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
From Hein Online, this archival database brings together primary and secondary sources on the history of gun control in the United States.
More Useful Info
Looking for statistics that shed light on a problem or issue? Check here for major statistical resources.
Nonpartisan background information about topics of public debate.
Public Agenda Online
Nonpartisan information about politics, political issues, and public policy.
Site devoted to checking claims made by politicians and political ads.
Like FactCheck.org, this award-winning site checks claims made by politicians and political ads; features the "Truth-O-Meter."
Debatabase: Topic Index
Designed for debate teams, this site includes arguments about various aspect of controversial issues, contributed by members.
Books in Pfau Library: Arguments For & Against
Books on various controversial topics, presenting pro and con viewpoints.
Books in Pfau Library: Background & Summaries
Books on current topics of public debate, offering an overview of the issues.