Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What Is Sustainability?
Sustainability as a discipline explores how human activities can be altered to meet the needs of both current and future generations to ensure long-term sustainability of the Earth’s environmental systems and resources. This interdisciplinary subject blends multiple subject areas including, but not limited to, the sciences, social sciences, education, governance, and business management in an effort to explore how humans can balance environmental, social, cultural and economic needs while restoring and or maintaining the Earth’s natural systems (atmosphere, hydrosphere, etc.). The primary challenge of this discipline to meet the needs of current human populations, while ensuring that future generations have the resources they need to thrive as a society and protect the various natural resources and ecosystems that support life on Earth.
Research Databases for Sustainability
EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of full-text journals and offers coverage spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Contains materials on agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, food and human nutrition and environmental sciences.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database of information about environmental concerns, indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of bio-medical and life sciences journal literature.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals, as well as hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works.
SciFinder (Chemical Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
Compilation of Chemical Abstracts, Medline, and related substance and reactions databases. Chemical Abstracts includes indexes and abstracts of articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text math and science journals.
Web of Science/Web of Knowledge Core Collection This link opens in a new window
A suite of citation databases including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. You can also access Medline and Journal Citation Reports from this interface.