Ethnic Studies: How to Find Books & Suggested Reading

For quick access on how to find all types of books, please click on the following link:

https://libguides.csusb.edu/books

Barracoon: The story of the last "Black cargo" by Zora Neale Hurston

Palm Desert Campus Collection; E444.L49 H87 2018

In 1927, Zora Neale Hurston went to Plateau, Alabama to interview eighty-six-year-old Cudjo Lewis. Of the millions of men, women, and children transported from Africa to America as slaves, Cudjo was then the only person alive to tell the story of this integral part of the nation's history. Hurston recorded Cudjo's firsthand account of the raid that led to his capture and bondage fifty years after the Atlantic slave trade was outlawed in the United States. 

Marcus Garvey: Anti-colonial champion by Rupert Lewis

Pfau Library, 3rd Floor; E185.97.G3 L48 1988

This book looks at the early life of Marcus Garvey, his activities during World War I years, and as one of the pioneers of Jamaica's social-political advancement.

Stamped From the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America by Ibram Kendi

Pfau Library, 3rd Floor; E185.61 .K358 2016

Historian Ibram Kendi chronicles the entire story of anti-Black racist ideas and their staggering power over the course of American history. This book uses the lives of five major American intellectuals to offer a window into the contentious debates between assimilationists and segregationists and between racists and antiracists.

Articulate While Black - Barack Obama, Language, and Race in the U.S.

Available in Ebook

In 'Articulate While Black', two renowned scholars of Black Language address language and racial politics in the US through an insightful examination of President Barack Obama's language use - and America's response to it.

Brown in the Windy City: Mexicans and Puerto Ricans in Postwar Chicago

Available in Ebook

This book is the first history to examine the migration and settlement of Mexicans and Puerto Ricans in postwar Chicago. Lilia Fernández reveals how the two populations arrived in Chicago in the midst of tremendous social and economic change and, in spite of declining industrial employment and massive urban renewal projects, managed to carve out a geographic and racial place in one of America’s great cities that was flexible and fluid, neither black nor white.

Red and Yellow, Black and Brown: Decentering Whiteness in Mixed Race Studies Editors: J. L. Rondilla; R. P. Guevarra, Jr.; & P. R. Spickard

Available in Ebook

This book gathers together life stories and analysis by twelve contributors who express and seek to understand the often very different dynamics that exist for mixed race people who are not part white. Chapters focus on the social, psychological, and political issues and identities for people who are in dual or multiple minority situations.

The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros

Available in Ebook; & Pfau Library's Featured Books (2nd Floor), PS3553.I78 H6 2009 

The story of a young girl growing up in the Hispanic quarter of Chicago. Capturing her thoughts and emotions in poems and stories, she is able to rise above hopelessness and create a quiet space for herself in the midst of her oppressive surroundings.

Ethnic Relations: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia by David Levinson

Pfau Library, 5th Floor; GN496 .L48 1994

This encyclopedia includes from A to Z a plethora of global ethnicities, races, cultures, religious groups, political & social movements, cross-cultural groups, and sects. World-wide topics on race and racism, refugees, situational ethnicity, slavery, stereotypes, syncretic cultures, transnational migration, world systems, ethnic relations, and Xenophobia.

Class in America: An Encyclopedia by Robert E. Weir

Pfau Library, 3rd Floor; HN90.S6 C564 2007

This encyclopedia contains information about people, terms, and concepts that help to define social class in America, exploring how perception of class has changed over the years and how class is addressed in politics and contemporary culture.

Ethnic Studies in the United States: A Guide to Research by Gretchen M. Bataille, Miguel Carranza, Laurie Lisa

Pfau Library, 3rd Floor; E184.A1 B275 1996

African American Studies -- Asian American/Pacific Island Studies -- Hispanic (Chicana/o, Latina/o, Puerto Rican) American Studies -- Native American/American Indian Studies -- Ethnic Stuides -- Ethnic Studies Associations -- Ethnic Studies Journals -- Ethnic Studies Newsletters.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Librarians can assist you with finding various other encyclopedias available for you. Please visit the library or visit the library homepage to contact us for reference services via chat, email, or schedule a consultation.  We are here to help!