Users' Guide to Videos in Other Databases: NewsBank Databases
NewsBank Databases
LIMITING SEARCH RESULTS TO STREAMING VIDEOS
SEARCHING
Once you run a keyword search, to the left of your list of search results, under Source type, click on Video.
Now each of your search results will look like this.
NAVIGATION
Click the Preview link to see the first portion of the text that accompanies the video.
Click the small blue arrow in the circle to go to the website with the video. You may have to scroll down a bit. NewsBank databases link to external sites for videos.
LINKING TO A NEWSBANK DATABASE VIDEO
METHOD 1
While looking at your list of search results, right click on the desired video and either copy the video link or use the share function.
METHOD 2
While on the website with the video, try right clicking as described above or look for a share feature.
NEWSBANK DATABASES WITH STREAMING VIDEO CONTENT
- California News from NewsBank This link opens in a new windowMore than 200 local California newspapers, many unavailable in other sources. Includes the Sun and the Press-Enterprise. Dates covered are generally mid-2000's to the present.
- Black Life in America: 1704-today This link opens in a new window
From Black-owned newspapers to mainstream news publications, BLIA offers a window into African American history, culture, and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. Includes Series 1: 1704-1877, Series 2: 1878-1975, and Series 3: 1976-today.
- Hispanic Life in America, 1704-today This link opens in a new windowThe experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media. Includes Series 1, 1704-1942: Spanish colonialism through World War II. Series 2, 1943-2009: Immigration, labor rights and civil rights. Series 3, 2010-Today: Hispanic Americans in the 21st century.
- NewsBank: America's News This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of U.S. news sources. Has a custom search option for California news sources only, which includes the San Bernardino Sun.
ONLINE BOOK: COPYRIGHT LAW
- Copyright Law for Librarians and Educators: Creative Strategies and Practical Solutions 4th EditionKenneth D. Crews is an attorney, author, professor, librarian, and international copyright consultant.
