Users' Guide to Videos in Other Databases: EBSCO Databases
EBSCO Databases
VIDEOS SIMPLY APPEAR!
SEARCHING
Whenever you run a keyword search in one of our numerous EBSCO databases, if there are any streaming videos for your topic, they will appear as a row of thumbnails in the list of search results as shown below. Oddly, there is no way to limit a search or search results to videos in either the basic or advanced EBSCO searches. Read on for the hidden video-only search.
NAVIGATION
The tiny, clickable, magnifying glass icons will give you a popup window with brief information about a video.
Each thumbnail displays the video's run time and has a clickable title below it; click either one to view the video, a searchable transcript of the video, and other details.
If you click on View all results, you will get a list of all the videos in your search results along with Refine results on the left. Choose a Date range and/or a Collection if desired.
HIDDEN VIDEO-ONLY SEARCH
Once you click on View all results, you also get access to (finally!) the video-only search. PLEASE NOTE: The only way to get to the video-only search is to 1) run a search that has videos in the list of results, 2) click on View all results.
ONLINE BOOK: COPYRIGHT LAW
- Copyright Law for Librarians and Educators: Creative Strategies and Practical Solutions 4th EditionKenneth D. Crews is an attorney, author, professor, librarian, and international copyright consultant.
LINKING TO EBSCO VIDEOS
1. Copy and paste the following into a blank Word document or equivalent:
http://libproxy.lib.csusb.edu/login?url=FROM YOUR BROWSER
2. While looking at the window in which the video will play, copy the URL in your browser (example below).
3. Replace FROM YOUR BROWSER with the URL you copied. Your link is now complete.
4. Copy the completed link and paste it wherever it needs to go.
EBSCO DATABASES WITH STREAMING VIDEO CONTENT
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Articles on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada. NOTE: Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Research index for anthropology and related disciplines, primarily scholarly publications. Includes "Anthropological Index" and "Anthropological Literature."
- Art Index This link opens in a new windowScholarly and professional publications in the visual arts.
- Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection, Series 1 & 2 This link opens in a new windowFull-text content from the "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage" Project, preserving U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture from colonial times until 1960. Series 1 focuses on literature and creative works. Series 2 focuses on civil rights leaders, religious thinkers, and women writers in the United States from the late 19th to mid 20th century. 80% of the content is in Spanish. Access to Series 1 was funded by a Student Success Initiative one-time project grant.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowScholarly and popular publications in business, management, and economics, plus brief company and industry profiles.
- Chicano Database This link opens in a new windowMexican-American topics and the broader Latinx experience. Includes scholarly, popular, and archival sources.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Current Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Predominantly scholarly and professional publications.
- Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text research database for communication studies. It offers hundreds of top communication journals, magazines and other sources covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, speech pathology, rhetoric, and discourse.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCriminology, criminal justice, law enforcement, and related disciplines. Covers scholarly and professional publications.
- Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 This link opens in a new windowScholarly and popular resources in all areas of education from 1929-1983. NOTE: Limited to 2 users at a time.
- Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new windowCultures, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences of African Americans, Asian Americans, Latinx Americans, and Native Americans, among other groups. Includes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, historical documents, and biographies as well as primary sources such as speeches and interviews.
- Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new windowDesigned for students and faculty at the high school and college level to support dialogue on the key issues surrounding systemic racism.
- Fuente Académica Plus This link opens in a new windowFull-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain covering all major subject areas, including agriculture, economics, history, law, literature, psychology and sociology.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowAll aspects of the human impact on the environment. Covers scholarly and popular publications.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowWorld history, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Mainly scholarly publications.
- Library, Information Science, and Technology Abstracts (LISTA) This link opens in a new windowLibrarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, and information management. Publications both scholarly and professional.
- MAS Ultra, School Edition This link opens in a new windowPopular magazines selected for their usefulness to junior high and high school students. Also includes biographies, almanacs, and other reference materials.
