Inclusive Citation Practice

Find New-to-You and Emerging Researchers

Cite Black Authors
Searchable mulitidisciplinary database of publications by Black authors and Black experts.
CiteHER Bibliography
Searchable database of publications by Black women in computing.
Diverse Sources
Diverse Sources is a searchable database of underrepresented experts in the areas of science, health and the environment. This database aims to make it easy for journalists and others to include a wider range of backgrounds, experiences and perspectives in their work. By doing so, we can improve our coverage and better reflect the world we cover.
Multiply Marginalized and Underrrepresented Scholars List
Scholars in fields of Composition, Rhetoric, and Writing
Project Biodiversity
Tools for promoting diversity and inclusivity in biology classrooms.
Women Also Know Stuff
Find women political scientists with a variety of expertise, country foci, and country of residence.
The Matilda Project
The Matilda Project is an educational initiative strategically crafted to cultivate an environment that acknowledges and celebrates the often overlooked contributions of women scientists marginalized by widespread gender biases.
Neuroscience Resources
Resources for diversifying teaching materials by elevating research by scholars traditionally underrepresented in neuroscience.

Open Access Resources - Including perspectives from marginalized groups

Open Stax
Publish high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are absolutely free online and low cost in print.
MIT Open Courseware
Free and open collection of material from thousands of MIT courses, covering the entire MIT curriculum. Includes assignments, syllabi, video, and more.
Open Educational Resources (OERs)
A guide to OERs created by Jennifer Beamer, Scholarly Communications Librarian @ CSUSB Libraries.
SciELO
Bibliographic database and a model for cooperative electronic publishing in Latin American, Caribbean and Iberian countries. It contains 638 scientific journals from disciplines in the health and life sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. It offers free and universal access, and full-text format.

Library Databases - Perspectives from marginalized groups

Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
Asian Life in America, 1704-today This link opens in a new window
This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of Asian American history and daily life – as well as the ways popular culture has portrayed and perceived people of Asian descent. Includes Series 1: 1704-1941, Series 2: 1942-2017, and Series 3: 2018-today.
Black Life in America: 1704-today This link opens in a new window
From Black-owned newspapers to mainstream news publications, BLIA offers a window into African American history, culture, and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. Includes Series 1: 1704-1877, Series 2: 1878-1975, and Series 3: 1976-today.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals published by and for minortized ethnic groups. Includes some Spanish-language publications.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
Digital images of Indigenous print journalism 1828-2016 from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience, and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
Gender Watch This link opens in a new window
Covers gender and sexuality issues in all subject areas; includes feminist, LGBTQ, and men's studies publications, both scholarly and popular.
Hispanic Life in America, 1704-today This link opens in a new window
The experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media. Includes Series 1, 1704-1942: Spanish colonialism through World War II. Series 2, 1943-2009: Immigration, labor rights and civil rights. Series 3, 2010-Today: Hispanic Americans in the 21st century.
LGBTQ+ Rights This link opens in a new window
Focusing on legal materials, this collection charts the gay rights movement in the 20th and 21st centuries. Topics include marriage and family, employment discrimination, military service, AIDS and health care, public spaces and accommodations, and historical attitudes and analysis.

Primary Source Materials (Digital)
CSUSB Libraries' databases with primary source materials.

Last Updated: Oct 2, 2024 12:49 PM
URL: https://libguides.csusb.edu/inclusivecitation
Print Page

Subjects: Citing & Writing

Tags: citation justice, citational practices, citing, inclusive citation

Inclusive Citation Practice

Reading List

Inclusive Teaching Resources

Syllabus Repositories

Find New-to-You and Emerging Researchers

Open Access Resources - Including perspectives from marginalized groups

Library Databases - Perspectives from marginalized groups