Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tests & Measures: Finding Tests in Databases

Help identifying and finding tests and measures.

Casting a Wide Net

It's possible to find tests in databases: sometimes a test is appended to a full text article. Try these searches that look for certain words--such as measurement, test, instrument, appended, etc.--in the abstract. 

It's cumbersome, and sometimes you'll get false results, but it's worth a try. Follow these directions carefully.

  • Open EBSCOhost. 
  • Click on "Choose Databases" above the search box. 
  • Click "Select All" and press OK. 
  • Click on "Advanced Search" under the search box. 
  • In the first box, type your topic, such as self esteem. 
  • Leave the drop-down box as is. 
  • In the next box, type the words measure* or instrument. 
  • Change the drop-down box to AB Abstract. 
  • In the next box, type the word appended. 
  • Change the drop-down box to AB Abstract. 
  • Press Search.

The search described here searches all our databases that are on the EBSCO platform.

  • Open Dissertations & Theses.
  • At the top of the page, click on the link "Change"
  • Click on "Select All" and press "Use Selected Databases."
  • Click on "Advanced Search" above the search box.
  • In the first box, type your topic such as self esteem.
  • Leave the drop-down box as is.
  • In the next box, type the words measure* or instrument.
  • Change the drop-down box to Abstract AB.
  • In the next box, type the word appended.
  • Change the drop-down box to Abstract AB.
  • Press Search.

The search described here searches all our databases that are on the ProQuest platform.

CINAHL, ERIC, and PsycINFO

Some databases, like CINAHL, ERIC, and PsycINFO, have a field code for tests and measures. Pre-determined field codes allow for more precise searches. Follow these directions carefully.

  • Open CINAHL.
  • Click on "Advanced Search" below the search box.
  • In the first box, type your topic, such as self care.
  • Change the drop-down box to IN Instrumentation.
  • Scroll down the page to the section "Publication Type."
  • Select "Questionnaire/Scale."
  • Press Search.
  • Open ERIC.
  • Click on "Advanced Search" below the search box.
  • In the first box, type your topic, such as self esteem.
  • Leave the drop-down box as is.
  • Scroll down the page to the section "Publication Type."
  • Select "Tests/Questionnaires."
  • Press Search.
  • Open PsycINFO. 
  • Click on "Advanced Search" below the search box.
  • In the first box, type in your topic, such as self esteem.
  • Leave the drop-down box as is.
  • In the next box, type the word appended.
  • Change the drop-down box to TM Tests & Measures.
  • Press Search.