Skip to main content

Ancient History Research: Getting started

This guide is designed to assist students in their research of ancient history. It covers finding resources available from the Pfau Library, including, encyclopedias, articles, books, primary resources, images, and videos.

Introduction

Welcome to the library guide for research in ancient history. This first section "Getting started" focuses on resources that will give you background information on ancient history topics. Consisting of handbooks and encyclopedias, these resources should help you gain the requisite knowledge and key terms to more effectively search for peer-reviewed journal articles and books on your topic. The other tabs of this guide have specific types of resources such as those for finding peer-reviewed (scholarly) articles, books, online primary resources, other online resources, images, and videos (documentaries). Good luck in your research and feel free to make contact with a librarian for further assistance (see contact information on the right side of the screen).

Handbooks and Encyclopedias

Handbooks generally present a comprehensive review of subjects, chronologically and/or thematically, in a narrative essay structure.

Encyclopedias provide entries (short articles) on subjects that can help you understand the major themes, names, places, and events for a given topic.

The information gained through these resources may be useful when you begin searching for scholarly articles in the databases listed under "Peer Reviewed Articles @Pfau."

 

Handbooks

Encyclopedias

Print Encyclopedias (only available in the library)

Encyclopedia of the Archaeology of Ancient Egypt (DT 58.E53 1999)

Ancient Egyptian Materials and Technology (TA 402.5.E3 A53 2009)

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Archaeology in the Near East (D S56 .O9 1997 OVERSIZE)

Civilizations of the Ancient Near East (DS 57 .C55 1995 OVERSIZE)

A Companion to Ancient Egypt (DT 60 .C6345 2010)

Subject Guide

Brent Singleton's picture
Brent Singleton
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact:
John M. Pfau Library
PL-053C
CSU San Bernardino
5500 University Parkway
San Bernardino CA, 92407-2318
909-537-5083