Ancient History Research: Getting started
Introduction
Welcome to the library guide for research in ancient history. This first section "Getting started" focuses on resources that will give you background information on ancient history topics. Consisting of handbooks and encyclopedias, these resources should help you gain the requisite knowledge and key terms to more effectively search for peer-reviewed journal articles and books on your topic. The other tabs of this guide have specific types of resources such as those for finding peer-reviewed (scholarly) articles, books, online primary resources, other online resources, images, and videos (documentaries). Good luck in your research and feel free to make contact with a librarian for further assistance (see contact information on the right side of the screen).
Handbooks and Encyclopedias
Handbooks generally present a comprehensive review of subjects, chronologically and/or thematically, in a narrative essay structure.
Encyclopedias provide entries (short articles) on subjects that can help you understand the major themes, names, places, and events for a given topic.
The information gained through these resources may be useful when you begin searching for scholarly articles in the databases listed under "Peer Reviewed Articles @Pfau."
Handbooks
- Blackwell Companions to the Ancient WorldSeventy handbooks on a variety of topics in ancient history. Tip: you can add words to the search box to narrow down to a specific subject.
Encyclopedias
- Oxford Classical DictionaryOffers over 6,700 entries on all aspects of the classical world, including politics, government, economy, religion, myth, law, philosophy, gender, sex, military history, reception, and anthropology. An excellent resource to go to first.
- Oxford Classical Dictionary: Abbreviations List - Lists in full the author or work referred to in most abbreviations students will find in footnotes, citations, etc.
- Oxford Reference - Classical StudiesEight dictionaries and encyclopedias providing background on topics in Ancient Greece and Rome.
- Oxford Reference - ArchaeologyThree resources covering archaeology.
- Encyclopedia MythicaEncyclopedia of mythology, folkore, and religion.
- Pleiades ProjectCommunity-built gazetteer and graph of ancient places.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient EgyptCovers the social, political, religious, cultural and artistic legacy of this 5,000-year civilization.
- UCLA Encyclopedia of EgyptologyPeer-reviewed encyclopedia articles on Egyptology..
- Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 2nd ed. This link opens in a new window2nd Edition, (2006) edited by Donald M. Borchert. Complete text of all 10 volumes.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowSearchable encyclopedia with information about art and artists.
Print Encyclopedias (only available in the library)
Encyclopedia of the Archaeology of Ancient Egypt (DT 58.E53 1999)
Ancient Egyptian Materials and Technology (TA 402.5.E3 A53 2009)
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Archaeology in the Near East (D S56 .O9 1997 OVERSIZE)
Civilizations of the Ancient Near East (DS 57 .C55 1995 OVERSIZE)
A Companion to Ancient Egypt (DT 60 .C6345 2010)
Subject Guide
PL-053C
CSU San Bernardino
5500 University Parkway
San Bernardino CA, 92407-2318